Beef · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free

Shepherd’s Pie

IMG_6508

Getting through all my studies early in the morning proved to be a really good idea. It gave me time to put some thought into dinner. I was craving shepherd’s pie, and I also wanted to try out cauliflower mash. It’s a really good alternative to traditional mash potato, or so I’d heard. But I wanted more than what was in the recipe for shepherd’s pie in my copy of 4 Ingredients Gluten Free Lactose Free. Although though it did have a good recipe for cauliflower mash. So I pulled out some of my dad’s recipe books. We can’t use tomato because of my father’s allergies, so we stuck clear of the recipes where tomatoes of some description were a base ingredient, and instead picked out another from Cover & Bake: Casseroles, Pot Roasts, Skillet Dinners and Slow-Cooker Favorites. The fun thing is that you can really put in whatever vegetables you want, but I was inspired by a friend’s mother’s shepherd’s pie, where she uses mushrooms to give it that real full-bodied flavour. We had some mushrooms from the farmer’s markets, and there were some packets of frozen vegetables that really needed to get used up, so I thought – why not? I also made this in a large square dish, because our rectangular dish is actually a pretty poor choice when you’re dealing with double layered foods. I wanted max meat, max vegetables, so I went for our old casserole dish. It has definitely reminded me of why I wanted a larger, deeper, rectangular dish though.

Adapted from 4 ingredients Gluten Free Lactose Free

and Cover & Bake: Casseroles, Pot Roasts, Skillet Dinners and Slow-Cooker Favorites

Shepherd’s Pie

Serves: 6, Prep: 1hr, Cook: 15-20mins

Ingredients

  • 1kg cauliflower
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1kg beef mince
  • 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 4.5 tbsp tbsp red wine
  • 1 cup beef stock (gluten free)
  • 4 tbsp worcestershire sauce (gluten free)
  • 2 tbsp all-purpose flour (gluten free)
  • 1.5 tbsp mixed herbs
  • 250g mixed frozen vegetables, diced
  • 1 brown onion, diced
  • 100g button mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 tsp powdered mustard

Method

  1. In a large pot, break off the florets of cauliflower and boil them gently.
  2. Meanwhile, in a separate pot, pour in 3 tbsp of the olive oil, along with the garlic and onion, and brown the onion. Add the mince and brown it, doing it 500g at a time if that’s easier.
  3. Stir through the flour, then add the stock, the worcestershire, the red wine, the herbs, mustard and the vegetables and bring to the boil.
  4. Reduce to a simmer for 15-20 mins until the vegetables are completely soft.
  5. Pre-heat your oven to 200C (or approx. 180C fan-forced), and drain the cauliflower. Put the cauliflower back into the pot, add the extra tbsp of olive oil, season with salt and pepper, and mash like you would with potato.
  6. Grease a casserole dish, I used a deep square one. Spoon in the meat mixture, then cover with spoonfuls of the cauliflower mash. Season lightly with pepper, then bake for 15-20 mins, or until the cauliflower has baked and the edges are a little golden.

Nutritional Information

Approx. 502 calories and 21g of carbs per serve

20 thoughts on “Shepherd’s Pie

  1. Years ago, my wife ‘snuck’ cauliflower mash in on me one night for dinner. I was blown away by how much I liked it !! We often substitute this for potatoes, … but don’t tell any of my meat eating friends. I’ll get kicked out of the Carnivores union hall !! Stay hungry Nell 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

