Cupcakes and Muffins · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free

Mandarin and Poppy Seed Muffins

IMG_6479

I was feeling a little courageous after my relative success with the peanut better cookies, so I decided to try another baked good recipe. I flipped through my copy of 4 Ingredients Gluten Free Lactose Free by Kim McCosker in search of something simple. I found a neat little recipe for mandarin friands. But I wanted to change it up a little, especially since I don’t have a friand pan and I’m not willing to spend upwards of twenty dollars to get one. I also wanted this recipe to work, simply because the last time I tried an almond and citrus mix it went downhill. This one almost went the same way, but I managed to fiddle with the temperature to get these cuties cooked. In an oven with regular temperatures, this probably won’t be a problem. I also didn’t mix my whole mixture, sans the egg whites, in a food processor, as the instructions said to. This is because my processor is small and can only handle small amounts. So I just pureed the mandarins. The texture still turned out all right, however. And this mixture doesn’t rise at all, so feel free to really overfill your patty pans with the mixture. I made the mistake of giving mine room, so they look a bit too small and silly in the patty pans. I would also recommend spraying the patty pans with a little cooking oil to stop the muffins from sticking, because they really do want to stick. And the only other change I made was to add some poppy seeds to the mixture, because I thought – mandarin and poppy seed muffins, why not?

Adapted from Kim McCosker’s

Mandarin Friands

Makes: 12 muffins, Prep: 20-25 min, Cook: 20 mins

Ingredients

  • 2 large mandarins, peeled and de-seeded.
  • 1.5 cups almond meal
  • 3 eggs, separated
  • 2.5 tbsp agave nectar (I used maple syrup)

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180C. Line a twelve hole muffin tray with patty pans or spray a friand pan.
  2. Combine the mandarins, egg yolks, almond meal and agave nectar in a food processor.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk the egg whites until soft peaks form.
  4. Gently fold the mandarin mix into the twelve holes, and cook for 20 mins.

Nutritional Information 

 Approx. 102 calories and 7.3g of carbs per muffin

14 thoughts on “Mandarin and Poppy Seed Muffins

Leave a Reply

