Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free · Misc.

Pesto Dip

IMG_6438

Originally this was going to be a pesto sauce, but I had so much trouble trying to get it to become a puree that I was actually going to give up. Although the flavour was right and the smell was divine. I only realised at that point that the texture was perfect for a dip, and I tested it a few times to make sure the flavour and mouthfeel was all right as I worked it down to as close to a puree as I could get. I loved it! It was delicious with a plain bit of bread, although you might have to tinker until you find the texture and taste that suits you best. The good thing is that it made your average amount of dip, i.e. a small container’s worth, and so is easy to store. I’m not sure how long it would last, but some chefs recommend putting it in a jar, covering it with a thin layer of olive oil, and then refrigerating it. This is because the oil protects the pesto. But I’m not exactly sure whether that extends to the dip or not. I also used a combination of my food processor and a mortar and pestle to get the final product, but you might have a blender or a food processor that will do the job just fine. So use whatever you have on hand to get the right mix. I also omitted the pine nuts you would normally get in pesto, but that’s more of a personal preference thing. I prefer mine whole, toasted, and scattered on top of the sauce or dip, rather than blended with it like I know a few recipes do. So feel free to add them in if you’d prefer.

Pesto Dip

Makes: approx. 80g, Prep: 10-15 min, Store: In the fridge

Ingredients

  • 2 bunches of fresh basil (or about five cups of basil leaves)
  • 1 generous splash of lemon juice
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 3-4 tbsp olive oil
  • 3/4 tsp minced garlic

Method

  1. Place all the ingredients in a processor or blender and combine.
  2. If the mix won’t mix in your processor or blender, move what you have chopped up and combined to a mortar and pestle and work it around.
  3. Serve.

Nutritional Information 

Based on whole batch

 Approx. 371 calories and 1.6g of carbs per batch

8 thoughts on “Pesto Dip

  1. I have always wanted to make a pesto dip, thank god you have this here. I shall make it today or tomorrow. Thank you so much for sharing and have a lovely Sunday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

