Biscuits · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free

Peanut Butter Cookies (g/f, d,f)

IMG_6405

A couple of weeks ago there was a competition on facebook to win a Kitchenaid stand mixer, or the runner up prize of a recipe book and a packet mix. To enter you had to submit an original, gluten-free recipe, which was then voted on. I was so nervous! I’d never competed with my recipes before, and one of the other recipes – a brownie recipe, was pretty darn delicious looking. But I somehow managed to get enough votes to be one of the runners up! So happy! I received a copy of 4 Ingredients Gluten Free Lactose Free by Kim McCosker, and knew that as soon as I had a spare moment I’d like to experiment with her recipes. I had the ingredients on hand for her peanut butter cookies, so I gave them a whirl. It only occured to me when making them, and tasting them, that I’m really going off things that are sugar-y sweet. So that might be what made me biased about the taste, despite the deliciousness of the peanut butter and cinnamon.

But one thing I will say in my defence is that there is a enormous amount of brown sugar in this recipe. I stuck to the script, because it would help me know what I would or wouldn’t like to change for next time. I will probably halve the amount of brown sugar next time I cook these. I would also recommend beating the egg and the sugar beforehand, or beating in the peanut butter a little at a time, as the sugar has trouble dissolving into the peanut butter if you lump it in all at once, even if you mix it with all your handbeater’s might. I wouldn’t change the cinnamon though, because it really carries the recipe through. But I would recommend shortening the cooking time, or even halving it, if using a fan-forced oven. I cooked these cookies for about six minutes and they were still a little overcooked. But all in all, this was a super simple, super quick recipe, and I will put the full recipe up here so that you can all tweak it as much as you like, or not, if you prefer.

Kim McCosker’s

Peanut Butter Cookies

Makes: up to 20, Prep: 5-10 mins, Cook: 8-10 mins (if using a non fan-forced oven)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of crunchy peanut butter
  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon of ground cinnamon

Method

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 180C (not fan-forced), and line two baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Combine all the ingredients in a bowl. Then scoop out spoonfuls of the mixture, roll them into balls, and flatten them on the tray slightly with the head of a fork.
  3. Cook the cookies for 8-10 mins (cooking time for fan-forced is much shorter), or until a light crust develops over the top of the cookies.
  4. Allow to cool completely.

Nutritional Information

Based on a yield of 20 cookies

Approx. 107 calories and 9.9g of carbs per cookie

18 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cookies (g/f, d,f)

  1. Wooow!! I just experimented on cookies and the result looked just like that!!! I didn’t have any idea that you could make cookies with just a few ingredients! And congratulations on the competition! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

