Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free · Pudding

Chia and Raspberry Pudding

IMG_6262

Some things have been far too complicated lately, what with having essays, both in english and not, and regular weekly work due, I just wanted to create something simple. I thought about doing something using my new food processor, or my new hand-mixer, but decided against it. I say new, but what I actually mean is, some extremely generous people let me have both the mixer and the little food processor, the blades of which are still perfectly sharp, after it was given to them by another person. I really can’t express my delight at having been allowed to take home these neat little things! Especially since I’m better off using a fork than trying our blender, and our hand-mixer is no longer holding the beaters in quite so well, and hence isn’t mixing quite so well either. Instead I chose to revisit one of my old recipes, one which my father has been asking for, to see if I couldn’t improve it somehow. I chose my chia seed pudding, and this time decided to add some fruit, namely raspberries – a heinously delicious berry, and to use a different base than coconut milk or coconut cream. I chose unsweetened almond milk, because I use it a lot in cooking now, and threw in a little sweetener, and the result was simply delicious. I did, however, accidentally spill and then tread into the carpet, the raspberries meant to top this dish (another disaster! Silly me!) So when it comes to toppings, experiment to find which you like best. Some suggestions are extra raspberries or toasted coconut flakes.

Chia and Raspberry Pudding

Serves: 4 small serves, Prep: 5 mins, Chill: Overnight

Ingredients

  • 4 tbsp black chia seeds
  • 2 1/4 cups unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup (or to taste)
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste (or to taste)
  • 1/2 cup frozen raspberries
  • 2 jars/one larger jar

Method

  1. Either divide the mix into two jars, which will comfortably fit in the fridge standing up, or a larger jar if you have the space. Pour all in the ingredients in and shake hard to combine.
  2. Refrigerate over night, shaking or stirring every now and again before you go to bed to ensure the chia seeds don’t stick to the bottom.
  3. Shake again before serving, and divide among four small ramekins or cups, topped with fresh raspberries and/or toasted coconut flakes.

Nutritional Information

Approx. 119 calories and 21.2g of carbs per serve

8 thoughts on “Chia and Raspberry Pudding

Leave a Reply

