Chicken · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free · Soup

Chicken and Vegetable Soup

IMG_6226

Soup is definitely a fitting recipe for the current weather, which is being stubbornly cold and rainy. I’m still gathering all the pieces for a guest post about a rather decadent dessert, which was made especially for me on a special day. But another guest post is on the horizon, and it’s a main which even I, not being a fan of the central ingredient of the sauce, absolutely enjoyed. It’s really exciting to know that some guests posts will be coming, because for me it feels just as amazing as being able to share the food I make. Although getting the timing right for getting together to cook and take photographs is proving tricky, so these posts won’t be immediately forthcoming. It is a future goal I’m working towards. It’s exiting, because I’m able to share this blogging experience with two friends of mine, and it’s a really wonderful feeling. But onto this soup recipe. I actually made it for my mother, because her birthday has been one hectic day, with my brother graduating on the same day, and our first inspection having been scheduled for that morning too. I thought, if I can at least take the hassle out of the evening it would mean some well deserved relaxation for her, and indeed the family as a whole. But although I know some people add pasta to their chicken soups, I decided against it. I already added potato, and it just felt a little unnecessary to have both of them in there. If I wasn’t putting potato I would probably put pasta, gluten-free of course. However, I prefer to add potato. I also prefer to add a simple mix of winter vegetables to my soup, although I know some people add peas, beans, and even zucchini, I chose not to. But if you want to do that feel free. It’s really a preference-based thing. Soups can be easily altered to suit different tastes, so if you love peas, beans and zucchini then add them instead. Just make sure to try and match the volume of vegetables, and to add more stock if need be. Otherwise this is a great recipe to serve up on a cold day.

Nell’s

Chicken and Vegetable Soup

Serves: 6-7, Prep: 20-25 mins, Cook: 45-50 mins

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 leek, white part only, thinly diced
  • 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 ltr g/f chicken stock (I used Massel’s gluten-free chicken stock)
  • 4 cups of pre-cooked chicken, shredded
  • 1/2 brown onion, diced
  • 1 potato, chopped
  • 1/2 turnip, peeled and chopped
  • 1 parsnip, chopped
  • 1 carrot, peeled and diced
  • 3 small celery stalks, diced
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Method

  1. Pour the oil into a soup pot, and lightly brown the onion and minced garlic.
  2. Add the vegetables and cook until the leek has softened, then add in the stock and chicken pieces.
  3. Bring the soup mix to the boil, and then reduce to a simmer for about thirty minutes, or until the vegetables are tender and cooked.
  4. Serve hot.

Nutritional Information

Approx. 240 calories and 17.3g carbs per serve

8 thoughts on “Chicken and Vegetable Soup

  1. It has been rainy and steamy hot here in Hong Kong for days. I would love a little homemade soup after coming in from the rain. I especially love those little cute pots of yours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

