Beef · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free

Beef Stir Fry

IMG_6175

I have loved chow mein and regular stir-fires for a long, long time. But one challenge in creating these dishes is the lack of gluten-free sauces available at my shopping centres. In doing some research I discovered several brands of gluten-free hoi sin sauces and oysters sauces, all found overseas in regular supermarkets. In my supermarkets there are actually a very low range of hoi sin and oyster sauces in general, let alone gluten-free ones. But after giving the recipe a once over I realised that after I put in all of the flavours I like the best, I didn’t really miss either the hoi sin or the oyster sauce. But I am still on the hunt for a brand that I don’t have to order from overseas, as postage makes my wallet hurt. I will also recommend using a brand of gluten-free rice noodles for this recipe, as I found that they soaked up the flavour nicely. I also cheated and used a packet of frozen vegetables, but my goal for this dish was quick and simple. I’m starting to really enjoy trying to think up recipes that wouldn’t break the bank or take very long to cook. So far of course I have very few of those, with the exceptions of say my salad and my beef patties. But practise makes perfect. I’m still eagerly learning more about the world of mains, and the more I learn the more I hope it will be reflected in my blogs.

Nell’s

Beef Stir-Fry

Serves: 4-5, Prep: 5 mins, Cook: 25 mins

Ingredients

  • 500g beef mince/beef strips
  • 250g frozen stir-fry vegetables
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 2 tbsp regular oil for cooking
  • 1 handful shallots, chopped
  • 1/2 brown onion, diced
  • At least 200g of rice noodles (make sure they are gluten-free)
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp minced ginger
  • 5 tbsp beef stock (I used Massel’s gluten free beef stock)
  • 1.5 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 sprinkle of chinese five spice (and by sprinkle I mean upend the bottle and shake it all over the dish, or to taste)

Method

  1. Prepare the noodles according to the instructions on the packet.
  2. Place the oils in a wok or pan, and then brown the onion and the mince. Add the vegetables, garlic and ginger and stir, then add the other ingredients and cook while stirring.
  3. NOTE: I love five-spice, which is why I essentially upended the bottle and shook it for all it was worth. Be sure to taste-test and find the right balance for you.)
  4. Once the vegetables have softened, stir through the noodles and serve.

Nutritional Information

Approx. 394 calories and 19.8g of carbs per serve

2 thoughts on “Beef Stir Fry

Leave a Reply

