Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free · Ice-Cream and Frozen Treats

Blackberry and Vanilla Ice-Cream (d/f, g/f)

IMG_6117

Although it is still winter here I have decided to do another lot of ice-cream recipes, the second of which will be coming after I do another main, etc. I fossicked about in my head for a recipe to do today and after coming up with a few ideas I examined our freezer for berries. I once had a blackberry swirl ice-cream down the coast as a little girl, and I remembered really enjoying it. So I thought it might be fun to try doing a dairy-free version and to see how it goes. I had a little trouble with the base mixture at first, but after sorting that out it turned out to be a pretty straightforward sort of mix. Although I will say that when I heat the mixture for ice-cream I tend to use coconut cream instead of coconut milk. To me heated coconut milk tastes like coconut water, whereas heated coconut cream retains some of the original thickness and creamy flavour. I have also sort of figured out a good ratio for coconut cream to eggs, although this may change as I experiment more. I went with a ratio of two egg yolks to 400mls of coconut cream, and the mixture thickened nicely, although not becoming as thick as custard. I did have to strain my first batch because I accidentally cooked the eggs, but it still turned out to be a thick enough mixture that I wasn’t too worried. I have, however, changed my method accordingly to make sure no one else has to strain their mixture too. Also the yield will depend on the size of your ice-block moulds, as mine are about the average size of an icy pole.

Nell’s 

Blackberry and Vanilla Ice-Cream (d/f, g/f)

Makes: 6 Ice-blocks, Prep: 5 mins, Cook: 15-20 mins, Chill: Several hours

Ingredients

  • 800mls coconut cream
  • 1/2 cup blackberries
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup (or to taste)
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 3.5 tsp vanilla extract (or to taste)
  • 1 pinch sea-salt flakes

method

  1. Whisk together all the ingredients except the blackberries and then place in a saucepan over low heat. Gently bring the mixture up to the boil while whisking and then reduce to a simmer.
  2. Once the mixture has thickened enough to gently coat the back of a clean metal spoon, remove from the heat and pour into a bowl.
  3. Allow to cool completely, or use an ice-bath, and then cover with cling wrap and place the mixture in the refrigerator  until very cold.
  4. If you want to put it through our ice-cream maker, by all means do, remembering to put the blackberries in at the last second. Otherwise semi mash the blackberries into the cold mixture and be sure to divide them evenly amongst the ice-block moulds.
  5. Freeze until solid, which may take a couple of hours, and then serve.

Nutritional Information

(based on a serving size of six servings in total)

Approx. 385 calories and 16.1g of carbs per serve

10 thoughts on “Blackberry and Vanilla Ice-Cream (d/f, g/f)

  1. Delicious looking ice lollies. Coconut cream really is nice and has that higher fat content to give you a creamier consistency on your tongue. I don’t have an icecream maker so this is a dellghtful alternative treat for my boys.

    Like

Leave a Reply

