Dairy-Free · Entres and Appetisers and Snacks · Gluten-Free

Tamagoyaki

IMG_6012

Tamagoyaki is a sweet little treat, a japanese omelette. It’s made by rolling together several layers of cooked egg usually prepared in a rectangular pan, and having cooked mine in a circular one I can see why that would be preferable. It can be served in little pieces you get a few bites out of, or it can even be used as a filling for sushi. It’s very simple and easy to make, provided you have luck and a few spatulas on hand as well as plenty of patience. But if I can manage to make it on my first go I’m confident a lot of other people should be fine with it as well. I also made my tamagoyaki on sake, rather than mirin. Both of them are essentially rice wine, but sake is traditionally used for drinking and mirin is not. I had no mirin, but I had sake, hence why I used that instead. I must recommend not using cheaper sake brands as they typically do contain gluten products, but any junmai sake or gekkaikan sake will be gluten-free as both of these are pure and more upmarket. If you have more money to spend you could get daiginjo sake, or there’s also gingo sake. But if you want to use mirin then use hon-mirin as that will be pure and gluten-free, I just wanted to try the sake my brother bought back from japan. It has a very unique flavour and really enhances this great little snack. I also recommend not using too much oil, as you can see one of my pieces is all shiny and glossy because I had too much in my pan. But it didn’t ruin the flavour.

Nell’s 

Tamagoyaki

Makes: 8 pieces, Prep: 5 mins, Cook: 8-10 mins

Ingredients

  • 4 eggs
  • 2.5 tsp white sugar + one pinch extra (omit this pinch if using mirin)
  • 1 tsp sake (mirin)
  • 1/2 tsp regular soy sauce
  • Oil for cooking.

Method

  1. Using chopsticks to prevent the mix from getting frothy, combine the ingredients in a bowl with an easy pour function.
  2. Brush a small pan, preferably a rectangular one, with oil. It isn’t necessary to use a lot, and turn the heat to low.
  3. Pour in half of the egg mixture and spread all across the pan. Cook until the base is cooked and the top is still slightly soft and undercooked.
  4. Teasing up one edge of the omelette, roll it in on itself until it has been rolled into a sausage on the other side of the pan, allow it to cook gently to make sure the insides are not raw.
  5. Pour in the second half of the egg mixture, lifting the rolled egg to ensure the new mix goes underneath it.
  6. Repeat the cooking process, but this time roll the already rolled egg in reverse so as to wrap it in the second omelette. One again cook gently to ensure there are no raw pieces.
  7. Remove from the pan. If you have a sushi mat you can use this to firm up your tamagoyaki, but it’s not necessary.
  8. Using a sharp knife, cut the tamagoyaki into eight pieces and serve.

Nutritional Information

Approx. 38 calories and 1.5g of carbs per piece

2 thoughts on “Tamagoyaki

    1. I really considered purchasing one from the great asian supermarket where I get all my ingredients for asian cooking. But now that I have cooked tamagoyaki and I loved it, I’m thinking it’s worth the buy. It’s exactly like you said, it really would make it that much easier. I also need to pick up a sushi mat, as that’s on the list of to-do recipes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

