Cupcakes and Muffins · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free

Blueberry Muffins (Paleo)

IMG_5994

I have to admit that when I first started to use almond meal and coconut flour I found it a bit challenging. I had no real experience with almond meal in desserts, except for on the rare occasions we were given slices of flour-less orange cake – as cooked by our incredible family friend Polly. But now that I’m using it more and more I’m really starting to appreciate almond meal over coconut flour, although I will be listing both versions I tested of this recipe for those of you that don’t mind using coconut flour as the base for these little muffins. I like the texture of almond meal. I like how it makes desserts rich and moist and dense. But it really has taken me a lot of practise to get used to recognising when the mixture is moist enough or when it needs moe baking powder. I have learned that, as a rule of thumb, almond meal and coconut flour both need a lot more liquid than regular flour. I also know that almond meal is much more dense than regular flour and thus sometimes needs much more baking powder to get approximately the same sort of lift as regular flour will get. So I will post up the coconut flour recipe first, and then I will put up the almond meal recipe second. If you read both you’ll see they’re very similar except for varied amounts of flour and liquids. It’s because both of these gluten-free substitutes require slightly different levels of moisture, and I prefer my almond meal desserts very moist.

Nell’s

Little Paleo Blueberry Muffins

Makes: 20 muffins, Prep: 5-10 mins, Cook: 10 mins

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup coconut flour, sifted
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 pinch sea salt flakes
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 6 eggs
  • up to 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries.

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 160°C (fan-forced) and places patty pans in your muffin tray.
  2. Combine all the dry ingredients in a bowl and stir in the liquid, sans the almond milk.
  3. Stir in the almond milk a little at a time until the mixture achieves a moist and runnier consistency, this may or may not require the full 1/2 cup of almond milk.
  4. Gently stir through the blueberries.
  5. Fill about three quarters of each patty pan with scoops of the mixture.
  6. Bake for 10 mins or until slightly browned on top and a skewer inserted into their centres comes out clean.

Nutritional Information

Approx. 68 calories and 7g of carbs per muffin

Nell’s

Little Paleo Blueberry Muffins

Yields: 12, Prep: 5-10 mins, Cook:  10 mins

Ingredients

  • 1 1/8 cups almond meal
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 pinch sea salt flakes
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 160°C (fan-forced) and places patty pans in your muffin tray.
  2. Combine all the dry ingredients in a bowl and stir in the liquid. It is meant to be moist, so don’t worry if it seems overly wet.
  3. Gently stir through the blueberries.
  4. Fill about three quarters of each patty pan with scoops of the mixture.
  5. Bake for 10 mins or until slightly browned on top and a skewer inserted into their centres comes out clean.

Nutritional Information

Approx. 101 calories and  9.2g of carbs per muffin

8 thoughts on “Blueberry Muffins (Paleo)

  1. These look delicious! I was just wondering, when you say “little” does the mean that you are using a mini muffin pan?

    Like

    1. I have a 12-hole cupcake baking tray that is somewhere between the size of a tray for mini muffins and a tray for regular cupcakes. It came with my bake and take cupcake carrier and replaced my old muffin pans. But this means the cooking times and the sizes of these muffins are different than if you were using a regular sized baking tray. So with that in mind I added the “little”, otherwise I was worried people might be confused if they try this recipe in a regular muffin tray and don’t get the same results. ^_^

      Also thank you for the lovely compliment! 😀

      Like

      1. Thank you for your reply! It make sense. So if I use a regular size muffin thin, I just need to increase the cooking time a bit then?

        Like

Leave a Reply

