Dairy-Free · Soup

Simple Miso Soup (d/f)

IMG_5991

So although I might not able to attend another soup night held by my friend later in a week or two, as I’ll probably be out of town visiting my boyfriend’s mother for her birthday, that doesn’t mean that I can’t use this as inspiration for my latest dish! I thought that this time I would like to make another traditional soup, but a more vegetarian friendly and much simpler one. I do like complex soups, don’t get be wrong. But there is a beauty in simplicity at times. Moreover the winter months creeping into the city have made me long for the traditional soup I gorged on while on my first overseas trip. Although I doubt my miso will ever taste as unique and as traditional as the soups I had overseas, because I often saw them making the dashi stock from scratch, this is a simple version of a delicious and traditional soup that I want to share. It can be altered in numerous ways, with noodles and vegetables and meat, but for me the miso I love will always be the simple miso that acts as a side dish to a traditional japanese breakfast of rice and fish. Besides, miso alone is apparently very high in dietary fibre and protein, which explains how it helps you to feel a little more full than thin soups like this normally would. It has a very distinctive flavour too, one that instant miso and packet miso soups can’t really reach. So please enjoy this soup when the outdoors are chilly and it’s warm inside, perhaps even warmer if you have a kotatsu!

Nell’s

Simple Miso Soup

Serves: 2, Prep: 5 mins, Cook: 10 mins

Ingredients

  • 300ml dashi stock (or massel’s gluten free chicken stock, or water)
  • 1/2 tsp soup seaweed, soaked in 2 tsp of cold water and drained
  • 75g of silken tofu, cubed
  • 1/2 tbsp red miso paste (or to taste)
  • 1 pinch of shallots, sliced diagonally

Method

1. Pour the dashi into a saucepan and heat over medium heat, bringing it up to the boil.
2. Reduce the heat and remove a ladleful of the stock. Pour it into a separate bowl and whisk through the miso paste. Return this to the pot followed by the shallots, seaweed and tofu.
3. Ensure the soup doesn’t boil as you simmer for a further 2-3 minutes or until the shallots are soft and the tofu is warmed through.
4. Serve

Nutritional Information

Leave a Reply

