Dairy-Free · Entres and Appetisers and Snacks · Gluten-Free

Avocado Salad

IMG_5984

Although I can’t say I’m a big fan of salads, there are some dishes that work well with salad as a side-dish. It also adds balance and a little bit of extra vitamins and minerals to your food. I recently discovered rainbow salad, which I tink is probably one of my favourites, and that inspired me to give making a salad a go. It probably seems silly to be posting up a salad recipe, but the truth is that salads are as much a worthwhile dish to post about as any. Some salads are very fancy including grilled fruits and marinated meats. But what I decided to go for was a simple and fresh salad that you could add or subtract from depending on tastes. In my case my father has an allergic reaction to tomatoes, so although you would normally expect to see some form of tomato in this sort of salad I decided to keep them out of the equation. If you have someone who really loves avocado then you should add more, and in this way the recipe can be altered as you see fit. But the idea with this was really to throw in as many vegetables as I could find in our refrigerator, and then to add some of the avocados my father bought home from the farmer’s markets. I thought it was a good way to put out another, and significantly healthier, recipe which could also serve as a side dish for our dinner.But I did intend to put chicken strips through this salad as well, that is – until my father ate the leftover chicken strips for his lunch! So I will still suggest putting in chicken strips as an optional ingredient if you have leftover chicken from a roast or barbecue chicken lying around. Please feel free to leave the chicken out if this is going to be a strictly vegetarian dish or to add extra for any carnivorous friends or family lurking around. But I do have to mention my father again as my inspiration for the dressing. His favourite snack at the moment is fresh avocado smothered in sweet chilli. I thought that a chilli dressing would work very well for this salad, but I cheated somewhat in that I used a bought chilli and lime dressing (having no time to make my own). But it turned out to be delicious!

Nell’s

Avocado Salad

Serves: 3-4, Prep: 5-10 mins

Ingredients

  • 1.5 ripe avocados, diced
  • 60g mixed lettuce
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 1/2 red onion, sliced
  • 30g baby spinach
  • 30g rocket
  • 1 drizzle of dressing of choice

Method

  1. Prepare the vegetables and toss the together in a salad bowl, then add the diced the avocado, scattering this over the salad.
  2. Drizzle the salad with the dressing and toss, if desired.
  3. Serve

Nutritional Information

Approx. 139 calories and 10g of carbs per serving

Leave a Reply

