Dairy-Free · Entres and Appetisers and Snacks · Gluten-Free · Pork

Fried Rice for one

IMG_5969

I went to see what I could make for dinner last night and discovered that our fridge and pantry were pretty much devoid of everything you would turn to for a simple meal – including leftovers, meat, and most vegetables. I scouted for supplies and found rice, eggs and a packet of frozen diced vegetables. But for some reason or another I stood there wondering what on earth I could do with all of that until I remembered getting a few tips about making fried rice from my friend Nhim. I remembered the basics – that is it needs meat, day-old rice is better, and you can put eggs through in more ways than the traditional omelette, but of course this recipe was made via a – I think that looks about right method. It turned out to be a simple a delicious dinner, full of vegetables. But I decided to add more to the recipe this time by actually buying a few ingredients we have been missing and some more spices. I also prefer not to put sugar through my friend rice, although I know some recipes call for it. And considering I can only handle so much chili I stuck to a pinch. But it really is surprising how filling this recipe can be considering that the portion I make is about a half a cup of rice per person if it’s a main meal rather than a side dish. But of course if you’re feeding more than double or even triple the quantities, or keep them small if this will be your side-dish rather than a main.

Nell’s

Fried Rice for One

Serves: 1, Prep: 5-10 mins, Cook: 15-20 mins

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup cooked basmati rice (preferably a day old)
  • 2 rashers of bacon, diced
  • 1/2 cup frozen diced vegetables.
  • 1/2 brown onion, diced
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp peanut oil
  • 1 pinch chilli flakes
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2-3 tbsp soy sauce, or to taste
  • 1 handful of diced shallots

Method

  1. Place the oil, onion and bacon pieces in a pan and cook until the bacon is cooked through, then add the vegetables and cook until soft.
  2. Put in the rice and stir. Clump the rice together and pour the eggs over it, stirring the eggs through to ensure they don’t scramble or become egg pieces but rather coat the rice.
  3. Stir through the shallots, soy-sauce and chilli flakes and serve.

OPTIONAL: Toss through pieces of leftover sausages, chicken, etc.

Nutritional Information

Approx. 482 calories and 51.2g of carbs per serving

Leave a Reply

