Biscuits · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free

Shortbread with a Simple Lemon Glaze

IMG_5962

I’m still in the process of experimenting with gluten-free dairy-free shortbread. But the recipe I cooked today worked well enough that I feel able to post it up here. But it will probably change as I experiment with it more and get used to using nuttelex as a butter substitute in biscuits. I also whipped up a small amount of lemon glaze to put over the biscuits. If anything the lemon glaze is nice by itself and works well on other biscuits aside from plain shortbread. So feel free to use that. I also considered using lard as I did in my hazelnut shortbread biscuits, but I was eager to try using nuttelex because it’s fast becoming my preferred butter substitute. I like the flavour of nuttelex more than the flavour of lard as well, but that might be because I like the flavour of anything like olive oil and nuttelex is an olive spread. I also found I needed less nuttelex than butter to make this recipe into a dough, and in one batch accidentally added too much. But I found they still cooked well and had a very robust taste from using the nuttelex. I also found that using gluten-free plain flour didn’t have an adverse affect on their texture or taste, so I didn’t bother with trying a rice flour version instead. But I may try that at a later date as rice-flour shortbread is the traditional gluten-free version. So I hope that these biscuits work out for everyone as well as they did for me. But if there are any problems let me know, as it will help me next time I go to test this recipe. In the meantime enjoy this recipe, as it’s really nice with a cup of tea.

Nell’s

Shortbread with a Simple Lemon Glaze

Makes: 18 biscuits, Prep: 30 mins, Cook: 12-15 mins, Chill: 1 hr, and 5-10 mins

Ingredients

  • 140g of nuttelex olive oil spread
  • 1/4 cup caster sugar
  • 2 cups gluten-free plain flour
  • 1/2 cup icing sugar
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 drizzle of warm water

Method

  1. In a bowl combine the sugar and flour with a whisk, and then knead through the nuttelex in chunks with well floured hands.
  2. Work this mix into a dough. If it’s a bit too dry then add the tiniest amounts of nuttelex as you work it into a ball.
  3. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 1 hr.
  4. Pre-heat your oven to 140°C, fan-forced, and line two baking trays with baking paper.
  5. Remove the dough from the fridge, breaking it in half. Place the other half back in the fridge to keep it cold while working.
  6. On a very floured surface roll out the dough with an equally well floured rolling-pin. Cut out the dough and place each cookie about an inch apart on a tray.
  7. Bake this for 12-15 minutes or until the sides are slightly browned and the underside is slightly browed (use an egg lift to lift to check).
  8. Meanwhile prepare the next tray of biscuits the same way, and once the first batch is ready remove and allow to cool on the tray, placing the next tray in the oven to cook, removing and allowing to cool in the same way.
  9. Once both are cool, use an egg lift to move them to a cooling rack to cool completely.
  10. Prepare the simple glaze by combining the water, icing sugar and lemon juice in a bowl. Drizzle this over the biscuits and place them in a refrigerator for 5-10 minutes or until the glaze has set.
  11. Serve.

Nutritional Information

Approx. 111 calories and 14.2g of carbs per biscuit

2 thoughts on “Shortbread with a Simple Lemon Glaze

Leave a Reply

