Beef · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free

Beef and Vegetable Soup (g/f, d/f)

IMG_5940

I had some somewhat troubling news after visiting the physiotherapist this morning. I have been given a thumb brace to wear for the next two weeks to try and help ease my tendonitis. It does, however, completely limit the movements of my thumb and makes holding things a little challenging, even while it provides comfort and support for it at the same time. So when I was thinking about how limited my movements are with it on, and how I’m only supposed to remove it for when I’m writing, I started to fet that maybe I wouldn’t be able to cook a main dish today. I had the help of my mother, though, in overcoming this challenge. She was in desperate need of some soup and I was in desperate need of a working pair of hands. So I did what I could while she took my directions for dicing and chopping. It turned out to be a small – but fun, moment to spend with her. I was also pleasantly surprised at the results of my soup, having not expected much to come of it really. I think this is because I’m used to being served vegetable soups without much flavour, as if the vegetables are somehow meant to make the soup taste extraordinary. I found I quite liked using herbs, garlic and pepper to give my soup a bit of life. It was also a delicious lunch to have after being out in the cold winds coming too and from my appointment. So lesson learned for soups, herbs and pepper and garlic really can improve what might otherwise be a rather plain dish. But my go to initial ingredients for soups and casseroles will probably always be bay leaves. It’s hard to tell how they improve flavour until you eat dishes cooked without them! But also, if you’re wondering how I managed to type this with my brace on, the answer is – with great difficulty.

Nell’s

Beef and Vegetable Soup

Serves: 4, Prep: 25 mins, Cook: 2.5hrs

Ingredients

  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tsp mixed herbs
  • Pepper, to taste
  • 500g diced beef
  • 1 litre of gluten-free beef stock (I used Massel’s)
  • 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 brown onion, diced
  • 2 cups mixed vegetables
  • 1 potato, diced
  • 1 tbsp nuttelex margarine (or another similar dairy-free spread)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

Method

  1. Dice the onion and place it in a soup pot with the nuttelex, oil and garlic.
  2. Brown the onion, then add and brown the beef.
  3. Pour in the stock, add the bay leaf, herbs and pepper and bring to the boil.
  4. Reduce the heat and simmer for 1.5 hours while covered, then add the vegetables and simmer for another hour, covered.
  5. Once meat is tender and vegetables are cooked through, serve.

Nutritional Information

Approx. 400 calories and 19.9g of carbs per serve

Leave a Reply

