Brownies and Misc. Slices · Dairy-Free · Food With Friends · Gluten-Free

Almond and Raspberry Slice

IMG_5937

I thought yesterday that I wouldn’t be able to make it to the birthday party of one of my oldest friends, so naturally I fretted about how to make it up to him. I decided on the spur of the moment to cook something for him. I think cooking is a great way to create gifts for your friends because you really put your all into it. I did, however, decide not to be traditional and to make him a cake. I think he’ll get plenty of that from his family. So instead I thought I would make him a slice. He’s not bothered about whether it contains gluten or dairy or not, so I kept this recipe strictly gluten and dairy free. I have to say – once again, that I really am in love with nuttelex. It’s dairy free, has none of those upsetting colourings or preservatives, and acts exactly like butter – if not better. I was creaming the butter and sugar for this dish, and when I beat in the eggs what I gained was a smooth mixture with a beautifully combined look.

It also has a very tasty flavour, which to me is a bonus. So I decided to make slice, to get back on topic.  looked in our freezer for a suitable topping and found a large bag of frozen raspberries! If I had not snacked on the flaked almonds it would have been even better, but I really don’t seem to be able to resist munching them when I see them! I know raspberry and almond are two flavours that work well together so I decided on that. I also know that my friend likes raspberries, and that his family grows them. I’ve been given tubs of them before to use in cooking and they are delicious! But the one thing everyone should know about almond meal is that it requires a lot of moisture. It soaks it up like nobody’s business. But to keep this recipe dairy free and in-line with the flavour I used almond milk to keep it moist. It came out delicious, sweet – and not just because of the sugar, and my father even stole an extra slice while I wasn’t looking! It really is an easy recipe and it’s easy to transport and lovely and moist. So don’t panic if your slices are moist because that’s just how almond meal recipes are. If you can see it has a crumb-y texture and there are no blobs of uncooked mixture then it’s done.

Nell’s

Almond and Raspberry Slice

Makes: 12 slices, Prep: 20 mins, Cook: Up to 20 mins

Ingredients

  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 1/4 cup gluten free plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tspn vanilla extract
  • 5 tbsp nuttelex margarine (or another similar dairy free butter substitute)
  • 3 x eggs
  • 3 Tbls white sugar
  • 7 -8 Tbls almond milk
  • 3/4 cup frozen raspberries

Method

1. Preheat your oven to 160°C (fan-forced), and grease a slice pan.
2. In a bowl beat together the nuttelex and sugar until light and creamy, then add the eggs, beating well after each addition.
3. Pour in the vanilla extract and almond milk and beat thoroughly.
4. Add the baking powder, the gluten free flour and the almond meal and beat thoroughly.
5. Pour into your prepared slice pan and smooth out to the corners, then sprinkle with the frozen raspberries and bake for 15-20 minutes, or until an inserted skewer comes out clean and the top is lightly browned.
6. Remove from the oven and allow to cool in slice pan before cutting and serving.

 Nutritional Information

Approx. 184 calories and 11.3g of carbs per slice

9 thoughts on “Almond and Raspberry Slice

Leave a Reply

