Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free · Pork

Simple Bacon Omelette

IMG_5901

It occurred to me that I had no breakfast recipes uploaded or even in the planning stages, and considering how busy I am in the evenings for the next three or four days I thought it was probably time to jump on the chance to make some. Ironically I decided to make an omelette this morning despite being thoroughly tired of eating eggs. I used to have eggs for dinner and for breakfast on working days and after a few months I had just had enough. But even I enjoyed this omelette recipe, probably because of the added bacon. But I have not added any dairy to this recipe or any gluten product, so if cheesy omelettes are your thing then feel free to add that to the recipe. I also am really starting to appreciate nutellex, an olive based margarine, because it acts just like regular butter in many ways and has such a rich flavour. It contains no dairy and no additives, and for once it’s a substitute for butter that doesn’t make me nauseous. I don’t know why a lot of the other non-dairy substitutes do that, but I’m assuming it’s their preservatives or some other similar ingredient. Oh! But I do also recommend doing this omelette in a smaller pan, as you get a slightly thicker and more plate-sized breakfast that way, rather than a crepe that has to be folded twice before you can slip it from the pan. I also recommend chopping your bacon into pieces about as small as five cent pieces, as mine cooked much quicker that way and were more evenly spread throughout the omelette. I also cheated a little in my first batch, as I accidentally added more than half of the egg mix to the first omelette and had to add another egg to the remaining mix. So if you do the same it can be fixed by simply scrambling another egg into the egg mixture and adding a dash more salt, pepper and herbs. I got two large omelettes out of this recipe that both my father and I enjoyed, and I used the leftover bacon from the packet just to make rashers as a side dish. But you could have it with salad or avocado slices, etc.

Nell’s

Simple Bacon Omelette

Serves: 2, Prep: 5 mins, Cook: 15 mins

Ingredients

  • 4 slices of bacon, diced
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 tsp mixed herbs
  • 4-5 eggs
  • A generous dollop of nuttelex, coconut oil or olive oil

Method

  1. Dice the bacon and set aside.
  2. In a jug, whisk together the eggs, salt, pepper and herbs.
  3. Put the nuttelex into a pan and melt it, then toss in half of the bacon pieces and cook. Once the bacon pieces are ready, remove the pan from the heat and pour over half the egg mixture, swirling the pan to spread it evenly.
  4. Return the pan to the heat and turn it to low, allowing the top of the omelette to cook until just firm, whereupon you take an egg flipper and fold the omelette in half.
  5. Slide the omelette onto a plate, and repeat with the rest of the egg mixture and bacon pieces.
  6. Serve hot.

Nutritional Information

Approx. 302 calories and 0.9g of carbs per serving

Leave a Reply

