Pork

Ham and Sun-Dried Tomato Quiche

IMG_5782

I am not a quiche lover – or rather, I wasn’t one until today. I have disliked their texture and taste since the first time I tried them as a little girl and every time thereafter. But for some reason today when I was thinking of a more wholesome main food to cook I thought – I would like to cook a quiche. It makes little sense even to me! But I discovered this dish to be extremely simple and tasty. It was a good way to use up some of the sun-dried tomato sitting about from my pesto dish, and it was also the first time I had ever used my fluted pan! I was excited to try it out as I bought it very cheaply, but had no opportunities to bake with it until now. It was also a good reason to cycle around my neighbourhood to whip down the nearby shops. So you could say that this quiche was a good excuse to do a lot of things I have been meaning to do! But as the local shops didn’t have fetta, I haven’t added it to this recipe. If you would like some then by all means put some through. But I think the taste of the sun-dried tomatoes, dill and ham work perfectly well without it. But I will say that quiche is much better hot. So if you are planning on cooking and serving this then try to keep it hot or at least to re-warm it before serving. I know some quiches are served cold, but I found the texture and flavour much nicer when the slices were hot and steaming. Oh, and if you don’t want to use shortcrust pastry and would prefer to use a pre-bought tart shell or something similar instead then by all means do. But it took me less than four minutes to line my pan with pastry (something I am absolutely unfamiliar with doing in this sort of context), so it shouldn’t give anybody else that much trouble. I also know that a lot of people use finely grated parmesan cheese in their egg mixture, but again the stock in the local shop is very limited. It’s not at all like my local shop from where I used to live, unfortunately. So I simply took out our pizza cheese and finely chopped it myself. I think the mixture of cheese added an extra depth of flavour that was quite nice, but if you want to use straight parmesan go ahead. I found this absolutely delicious, and I am not a quiche fan. So hopefully that should mean that this is a good quiche recipe! Buon appetito!

Nell’s 

Ham and Sun-Dried Tomato Quiche

Serves: up to 8, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 25 mins

Ingredients

  • 100g champagne leg ham, diced
  • 1/2 tsp dried dill
  • 1/4 cup sun-dried tomato, chopped
  • 2 sheets shortcrust pastry
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 cup pizza cheese, finely chopped
  • 1/3 cup thickened cream

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180°C (fan-forced). Place the pastry sheets in a fluted pan (i.e. a flan pan), and refrigerate for up to 10 mins or until firm.
  2. Meanwhile mix together the eggs, cream and pizza cheese and put aside.
  3. Remove the pan with pastry and blind-bake it in the oven for about 10 mins or until golden brown. If you are not using pastry beads then prick the bottom of the pastry in a few places with a fork.
  4. Dice the ham, chop the sun-dried tomatos and toss them in a bowl with the dill
  5. Turn the heat down to 160°C (fan-forced) and pour the ham and tomato mix into the base of the pastry. Cover this with the egg mixture and cook for up to 15 mins, or until the centre is also solid.
  6. Serve.

Nutritional Information

Approx. 136 calories and 4.9 g of carbs per slice

Leave a Reply

