Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free · Ice-Cream and Frozen Treats

Lime Sorbet

IMG_5734

Ice-cream makers can be tricky business. I have only used mine twice – in-between other treats, so I am still getting used to gauging when is the best time to take any mixture out. I now know it’s somewhere between 25 to 30 minutes, leaning more towards 30 minutes. I always fret that my mix is getting too hard around the outside and hence why I remove it. But even though I removed my mix a little earlier than i could have this lime sorbet is still proving to be a worthwhile treat. It’s also pretty easy to re-firm your mixture once it’s removed from the ice-cream maker, so never panic if that happens to you. All you do is pop it in an airtight container and put it into your freezer, stirring it throughly – in the case of sorbet I use a fork to stir, every half an hour. It helps the sorbet retain the right texture and stops the mixture from separating or forming icicles. But if your aim is to make slushies then obviously this won’t be a problem for you! I was actually requested to make this lime sorbet by my boyfriend, who has a love of the real tangy sorbets such as lemon and lime or straight lemon or straight lime sorbet. But I had a hard time finding lime juice and in the end I just juiced about ten lime halves. It was a good shoulder workout! I also don’t like using too much zest because lime zest has quite a strong flavour, hence why I limited mine to a tablespoon when I know a lot of other people zest most of their limes. I only had to zest two limes roughly to get that much zest as well, and it wasn’t time-consuming or tricky to do. So if you feel like a cold and tangy treat then try out this lime sorbet, it really is quite delicious and not quite so tangy that you have to pucker your lips!

Nell’s

Lime Sorbet

Serves: up to 7, Prep: 15 mins, Cool: 20-25 mins, Chill: up to 2 hrs

Ingredients

  • 3 cups white sugar
  • 3 cups water
  • 2 1/4 cups lime juice
  • 1 tbsp lime zest

Method

  1. Place the white sugar and water in a saucepan and bring to the boil over medium heat. Reduce the heat to a simmer, and leave the mix on the stove top for 305 minutes without stirring until the sugar has dissolved (this is called simple syrup, you can make batches of it in advance for sorbets and keep it refrigerated until you need it).
  2.  Allow the simple syrup to stop steaming a little and then use an ice-bath to get the simple syrup really cold. Pour in the lime juice and zest and combine by stirring.
  3. Pour this mix into an ice-cream maker and prepare as per their instructions.

Nutritional Information

Approx. 352 calories and 92.5g of carbs per serving

5 thoughts on “Lime Sorbet

    1. I have a cuisinart 2 quart ice-cream maker. It says in their instruction booklet to go from anywhere between 25-30 mins, and they don’t change that time for either sorbet or ice-cream. But taking any mix out at about 25 minutes tends to reveal that it’s too soft, so I’m thinking I should leave it in for up to the full 30 and see how that goes.

      Like

      1. I always freeze mine in a container after that initial time. Basically, I watch it change and get fluffier, then let it go another 5-10 minutes. It will be really soft still, but that’s my exercise in patience. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

