Beef · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free

Beef Satay (g/f, d/f)

IMG_5691

I really think my main-dishes muse must be settling in properly, because I’m starting to feel more inspired and confident about main dishes. I had a lot of success with my apple crumble yesterday, but now I feel like for every dessert I make I would also like to make one main dish. I settled on a classic asian-cuisine dish that I know to be very popular with my friends as well as with me – Beef Satay. It’s a classic. It’s one I find it difficult to go past when I go out – or rather, if I go out, to a restaurant with friends. It’s a very simple and straightforward dish to make as well. And I was so happy with the flavour of a simple sauce that I really didn’t bother with all those different spices and flavourings like soy sauce or fish sauce or tamarind – which show up a lot in satay recipes. I prefer the dominant flavours of any satay sauce to be coconut and peanut, and there is a subtle but of spice to this sauce to compliment both of those in the spoonful of Thai red curry paste I added. I also thought to try a little brown sugar in the mix and it added another delicious dimension to the flavours. It’s a very easy meal to put together, and you can add more or less vegetables if you like. If you don’t want meat you can also substitute it out for fried tofu. I think that would work just fine as well. If you’re keen on making it with other meats try that too, as Satay sauce works well with chicken and pork, and both of those can be bought or made into stir fry strips or bite sized pieces. I also recommend this one with rice, as basmati soaks up the flavour of the sauce beautifully and is a simple side dish to put alongside the meat and vegetables of this Beef Satay.

Nell’s

Beef Satay

Serves: 4, Prep: 20-25 mins, Cook: 20-25 mins

Ingredients

  • 500g beef stir fry strips
  • 1/2 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp Thai red curry paste
  • 1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter, softened
  • 400ml coconut cream, softened (and with the fat re-combined)
  • 1 brown onion, diced
  • 2 carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 1 red capsicum, diced
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 3-4 tbsp olive oil

Method

  1. Prepare the vegetables and set aside.
  2. Whisk together the coconut cream peanut butter, Thai red curry paste and brown sugar and set aside.
  3. Pour the sesame oil and olive oil into a frypan, and then add the garlic, meat strips and onion and stir fry until the meat is browned and cooked through.
  4. Add the vegetables and stir fry for another couple of minutes and then add the sauce.
  5. Stir through the sauce and then lower the temperature, allowing the mixture to simmer – mostly covered, until the carrot has softened.
  6. Serve over a bed of rice.

Nutritional Information

Approx. 761 calories and 18.2g of carbs per serving

2 thoughts on “Beef Satay (g/f, d/f)

Leave a Reply

