Chicken

Chicken Pesto Pasta

IMG_5530

Pesto is something of a classic pasta – and one I have been eating since I was a little girl. Of course back then I didn’t have such an appreciation for anything green. But now – now I definitely appreciate it and have even had the chance to put my own spin on it. But of course because it contains both gluten and dairy – in the case of the sauce I used, it had to be a treat while my father was out at his weekly exercise class. It was a pretty simple dish to put together and one my family enjoyed. It’s relatively now in mess and fuss – especially if you get your chicken pre-cut and don’t mind checking on a boiling pot of pasta every now and again. And I say simple – but the simple refers to the amount of effort put into cooking it, not the flavours of this dish. I found that adding the sun-dried tomatoes also gave the flavour of the sauce extra depth – one I’m not used to because I don’t often use them or eat them. But I can appreciate them in pesto and it gives me ideas to try them with other foods to see how they match up. Interestingly I have also found that pesto works very well on spiral pasta – even though it’s typically put on pasta like penne. It’s the reason I left that ingredient as just “pasta”, so that if you cook it you can use whatever pasta you prefer. Personally I’m torn between spirals and fettucini, and I have also left the sauce as just “pesto”, because both red and green pesto work very well with chicken too.

Nell’s

Chicken Pesto Pasta

Serves: 3-4, Prep: 5-10 mins, Cook: 20-25 mins

Ingredients

  • 500g chicken, cut into strips
  • 190g pesto sauce
  • 1/2 cup sun-dried tomatoes, drained and chopped
  • 3 cups pasta
  • 1/4 cup pine nuts
  • 3 tbsp olive oil

Method

1. Prepare the pasta as per the instructions on the packaging. Once done, reserve 1/2 cup of the liquid from the pasta.
2. Pour the olive oil into the pan and cook the chicken strips, then lower the heat and add the water and pesto and stir it through.
3. Add the sun-dried tomato and pine nuts and stir to combine, then serve mixed through the pasta.

Leave a Reply

