Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free · Pudding

Coconut Pudding with Lime Syrup

IMG_5509

I just went up to stay with my boyfriend and his parents in his home town over the weekend. It was our task to help out with a sort of show happening at a nearby airfield, where his parents also happen to have their plane and where they are a member of the sort of pilot club there. But I mentioned to his mother that I was on the hunt for props to use in photography for my blog and she immediately turned out a bag of goodies – all beautiful doilies and patterned cloths. She told me I could take whatever I wanted. So naturally I’m over the moon to have received a whole lot of props for free, especially as they’re in very good condition. I am currently working on my photography as well as my cooking, trying to get used to setting up food for shots, etc. It’s slow progress, but I think my photography is improving, little by little by little. In the meantime I am still building my collection of odds and ends to compliment my dishes. And I couldn’t resist using one of my brand new pieces in both of the dishes I worked on today. I was delighted at how nice it looked, especially in the white light from my lamps. But it has inspired me to think about complimentary shapes and patterns – something I really have little to no experience with. I’m still getting used to matching colours if and where I can, to be honest. But even I can see a distinct improvement in my older pieces of photography in my other blog and what I can now manage today. So it’s all very exciting and I’m ver grateful for the donation of lovely props!

By the by this recipe came about when I was attempting to make dairy-free panna cotta. It didn’t end being able to hold it’s shape quite as well, perhaps because I added too much water to the gelatin mix the first time around. So you might find with the amended recipe that it will hold it’s shape well enough to be popped out of any dishes. But in the meantime I am satisfied with the coconut pudding I created, and I love how well it goes with the lime syrup. I was actually wondering whether I should have done something like balsamic strawberries, etc. But it’s a little hard to go past the combination of coconut and lime. It’s a set of flavours that are very, very complimentary – and in a strange way. I never would have pictured coconut and lime together because they’re both such distinct flavours. It’s also interesting that coconut and lemon or coconut and orange are not particularly good together – at least in my opinion, but lime works so well. It’s something about the more subtle sting of lime verus the sour punch of lemon that works in this case, and it’s sharper still than orange. Besides, it’s a very simple and easy dish to put together and can make a rather fancy looking dessert if you put a few lime wedges about or lime zest, etc.

Nell’s 

Coconut Pudding with Lime Syrup

Serves: 5, Prep: 30 mins, Chill: 4hrs

Ingredients

  • 400ml coconut cream
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 3 tbsp cold water
  • 1.5 tsp powdered gelatin

Syrup Ingredients

  • 4.5 limes, juiced
  • 3/4 tsp lime zest
  • 3/4 cup caster sugar

Method

1. Sprinkle the gelatine over the cold water in a small bowl and set aside.
2. Over low heat, combine the coconut cream, sugar and vanilla until the sugar has dissolved.
3. Bring mix to the boil and remove from the heat.
4. Remove up to 1/4 cup worth of the coconut mix and whisk it into the gelatin.
5. Return the gelatin-coconut mix to the main mix and stir to combine.
6. Pour into cups, moulds or ramekins and refrigerate for 4 hrs.
7. Prepare the syrup close to serving time by combining the zest, juice and caster sugar in a saucepan over low heat until the sugar dissolves.
8. Bring to the boil and stir until the mixture has a syrupy consistency, and then remove from the heat and allow to cool slightly.
9. Pour the warmed syrup over the puddings and serve.

2 thoughts on “Coconut Pudding with Lime Syrup

Leave a Reply

