Beef

Herb and Fetta Beef Patties

IMG_5457

If there is one thing I am passionate about outside of baking and desserts that is meat. I love meat. I think that it comes partially from my struggles with my iron levels, and also partially from the fact that both my brother and my father are carnivores. I have great memories from when I was a little girl of my father getting scolded for chewing the bone from roasts and my brother savaging steaks and making me laugh. I like red meat more than white meat, and I tend not to like pork overly much if I encounter it outside of chopped bacon pieces and barbecue pork. So as I sat stewing over what recipe I could make next I thought that it might be fun to try making my own beef patties. I called up my father and asked him to bring home some of the ingredients and we had fun in the kitchen putting it all together. I especially like these times with my father because he gives me great cooking tips and we get to bond more than in any other situation. It’s a time for us to just be together and to have fun being together. It’s one of the reasons I love to cook now more than I used to when I did it without any assistance or – in some cases, well-intended interference. So if you have kids that want to help with making dinner and you want something easy that also won’t take too much time, give these beef patties a whirl!

I love this sort of recipe because it is one you can improve on by sight alone. If your beef patties are too dry then toss another egg into the mix. If your patties are too wet then pour in more gluten-free crumb alternatives. If there’s not enough onion you can easily grate up or chop up more and mix that through as well. But one thing I have learned is that it helps to know ahead of time what sort of herbs and flavours work well together. In some cases you might have a moment of serendipity and discover a great new combination, but sometimes you might not be so lucky. I know for one thing that fetta works well with beef mince, and so do the sorts of herbs that compliment fetta; being basil, rosemary or thyme and parsley. It’s the sort of mix that just works. And to top it off, another flavour that rounds it up is the olive oil that you can cook the beef patties in. But if you don’t like cooking in oil I’m sure other alternatives will work just as well.

Nell’s 

Herb and Fetta Beef Patties

Makes: 8, Prep: 10-15 mins, Cook: 20-25 mins per batch

Ingredients

  • 500g beef mince
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup gluten-free bread crumb alternative (like Orgran’s or kellogs)
  • 1/2 cup crumbled fetta
  • 1 tsp mixed herbs (should contain basil, thyme and rosemary at least)
  • 3 tbsp chopped parsley
  • Ground pepper
  • Olive oil

Method

  1. Combine all the ingredients except the olive oil in a large bowl, using gloved hands to work it all together.
  2. Create patties from the mix. Do this by pulling out chunks almost the size of your palm, rolling them together and then flattening them between your hands.
  3. Pour some olive oil into your pan and place the patties in as well, making sure you have enough room to turn them over.
  4. Once one side of the patty has browned, flip them over and cook the other side. Be sure to cut the thickest of them in half to check if their centres are cooked before you remove them.
  5. Place the patties on a plate covered with paper towel and serve with gravy and greens, or as burger patties in buns.
Leave a Reply

