Beef · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free

Meat Pie (g/f, d/f)

IMG_5147

Of course I always say that I will cook more mains and stop making so many desserts, but I’m starting to realise that this may be wishful thinking for the most part. I can’t help but gravitate bac to baked goods although I long to be able to make mains with just as much skill. I got that opportunity tonight, however, when driving home with my father. He mentioned going to pick up a meatloaf, because he was unwell and not able to cook too much. I said that I would like to try my own meat pie recipe, if he wouldn’t mind cooking with me (as I thought we could bond a little in the kitchen – our shared favourite space). It turned out to be a quick and easy dinner that satisfied myself, my mother, and has created leftovers for me to snack on tomorrow as well. It’s a really straightforward meat pie recipe, nothing too fancy. But I think it will be a crowd pleaser, particularly for fussy kids. If you do want more to it then I do recommend grating in some other vegetables like carrot, or even zucchini. It could only improve the pie really. I am also including egg wash in the recipe because I found it improved the pastry, and not only in terms of looks.

But my attempt at first puzzled us because we wondered why the pie was so runny. It occurred to me that I had, for some reason, added water to the already fine sauce. But I haven’t added the water to this recipe, so fear not! But if you too find your pies are a little runny, and cornflour doesn’t seem to be helping, try and cut out liquids that don’t add flavour – like water. Otherwise the flavour is a delight, and you could even add extra herbs if you prefer, or extra salt or pepper. I kept it simple because I know what I like. But if you’re the type who likes a really pepper-spice type pie then add much more pepper. And conversely if you don’t like to add salt or pepper to anything than feel free to leave the pepper out. And finally, this is a gluten-free pie. I’m excited to say that this shouldn’t be a novelty anymore either because there are a ton of recipes for gluten free puff pastry, as well as shops that sell it (for example the pastry pantry sells their wares through a few shops, and the gluten free shop might also be worth a look, and even coles and woolworths now sell g/f puff pasty too), so the fact that this is a pie no longer makes it impossible for people who are gluten intolerant.

Nell’s

Meat Pie

Serves: 4, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 20 mins

Ingredients

  • 2 square pieces of gluten free puff pastry
  • 1 egg yolk, beaten
  • 1/4 cup tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup gluten free beef stock (such as Massel’s)
  • 2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tsp non-wheaten cornflour
  • 1 tbsp mixed herbs
  • A few turns of a pepper grinder
  • 500g beef mince
  • 1 brown onion, grated
  • Olive oil

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 160°C (fan-forced), and if your pastry is frozen then lay out the two sheets to let them thaw.
  2. In a pan, brown the onion in the olive oil, and then add the mince. Brown it.
  3. Add the liquids and stir them through, then add the pepper, herbs and cornflour.
  4. Mix thoroughly to ensure there are no lumps of cornflour.
  5. Simmer until sauce reaches desired consistency.
  6. Put a sheet of baking paper into your pie dish and lay the first sheet in. Press it down against the bottom like you would when lining a cake tin with baking paper, and then pour the mince into the pastry cup.
  7. Place the second sheet on top of the other, placing the corners of this sheet where the corners of the first are not – so that it almost looks like an eight pointed star.
  8. Fold these pieces together, using a fork on the edges to make sure that they are well sealed. And then using this fork stab several places in the top sheet to allow the steam to escape.
  9. Using a pastry brush, brush the top of the pie with the egg yolk and then place it into the oven.
  10. Cook for twenty minutes, or until pastry appears golden and flaky on top.
  11. Serve.
Leave a Reply

