Cupcakes and Muffins · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free

Bunny Cupcakes (vegan base, but not vegan filling, and g/f)

IMG_5085

It’s an exciting feeling to get home early and to be able to dive straight into all my chores. It’s not exciting because they’re chores, it’s exciting because it means I’ll finish them early and have time to exercise and cook. I did just that this morning after getting home a little before nine and managing to finish my study by a little past eleven. I spent the next two hours or so baking, cleaning and dashing down to the shops to get last minute ingredients. I was absorbed by making these vegan cupcakes, although I didn’t end up using the original filling. I thought that since I’m taking them to a family with one child that loves rabbits, I could instead make them into bunny cupcakes. I used up the last of my raspberry jam, which seemed impossible until I actually started having to scrape the container, and topped them with my dairy free cream substitute. But first I made the cone cut-out of the top as per the instructions of the original recipe by Jaymi Heimbuch. I then cut these cones in half to make the distinctive bunny ears and placed them on top of the cream substitute. I thought about adding more, but time constraints and a love of a little simplicity meant I left them as is.

I don’t often cook vegan recipes because I like eggs. But when you want to cater to a family where a possible gluten-free guest might appear then it’s better to err on the side of caution. I didn’t have the time to make up my own recipe, so I hunted about and fell in love with the idea of chocolate vegan cupcakes. As a rule of thumb I tend to find vegan cuisine suits both mine and my father’s allergies, and would therefore suit another person who was also gluten-free. So I fossicked until I found a recipe I liked and went with it. Although I got far more cupcakes than the recipe suggested I would. In the end this wasn’t a problem, however, because that meant I could leave these extras behind for my own family to munch on. Buon Appetito!

Adapted from Jaymi Heimbuch’s

Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes

Makes: 30, Prep: 1hr 15 mins, Cook: 15 mins per batch

Cupcake Ingredients

  • 3 cups gluten free plain flour
  • 6 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp bicard soda
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 10 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups cold water

Filling

  • Raspberry Jam
  • 300ml thickened cream, whipped

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 160°C (fan-forced) and prepare 12-hole cupcake pans with patty pans, or simply with grease or spray oil.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine flour, baking soda, cocoa powder, sugar and salt until thoroughly mixed.
  3. Make a well in the middle of the dry ingredients and add the vegetable oil, vanilla extract, lemon juice and cold water. Stir until completely combined and free of lumps.
  4. Fill patty pans to about three quarters full and bake for 15 mins.
  5. Once cupcakes are cool take a paring knife and cut a cone out of the top of each cupcake, going deep enough to allow plenty of filling but not so deep that you cut through to the bottom. Cut the cones in half to make the ears.
  6. Spoon some jam into the hole, top with a dollop of cream, and pop the ears into the cream so that they stick up – like in the photo above.
  7. Chill until ready to serve.
2 thoughts on “Bunny Cupcakes (vegan base, but not vegan filling, and g/f)

Leave a Reply

