Chicken · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free

Hurry Curry

IMG_4749

I have probably already mentioned this before, but I am a big fan of leftovers. In my opinion a lot of mains and even desserts get better if you leave them overnight in the fridge. In particular stews and things get a much richer flavour for being left to sit and steep. But I also love using leftovers in new recipes. One common leftover my family re-use is charcoal chicken, generally from our local takeaway. It’s a big chook and so we don’t often use all the meat. My mother and I bought one the other night but I felt too ill too eat much more than the wings. So we basically had a whole chicken leftover. I asked my father if he could teach me the recipe for his Hurry Curry, one of my favourite curries to date, and he agreed. So for dinner last night we used the leftover chicken to create a delicious quick curry that fed five. It’s a pretty tasty dish, not to mention allergen friendly. It can also be used with a whole myriad of vegetables  So if you have leftover chicken or meat and you have vegetables that need cooking then throw them in! It doesn’t matter whether it’s carrot getting a little too soft or broccoli or cauliflower, this dish lends itself well even to celery – a non-curry vegetable in my mind.

I love my dad’s cooking. I learned to love to bake with my mother, but my love of mains is definitely nurtured by my dad. Over time he took over the kitchen, and since then we’ve bonded a lot more than before. I love to get in there and help him cook dinner, but only so long as I don’t have to stand downwind of where he’s cooking onions! I also like hearing his stories about the foods he ate as a boy, which more often than not contain delicious stories of his mother making porridge on the stove top, giving him the bone from a roast to chew on, or even sweet curries. It was his memories of her curries using leftover lamb and beef, the cheapest meats in those days, that inspired this quick curry. But I definitely like the chicken version. And this curry can also be made more or less spicy depending on your tastes, so feel free to experiment!

Stuart’s

Hurry Curry

Serves: 5-6, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 15-20 mins

Ingredients

  • Coconut oil, for frying
  • 1 charcoal chicken, pulled apart into strips
  • 2 brown onions, roughly chopped
  • 850ml coconut milk
  • 2 carrots, chopped finely
  • 3 sticks celery, chopped finely
  • 4 tsp gluten free curry powder
  • 1 tbsp dessicated coconut
  • 2 small boxes of raisins (kids snack size)
  • 1/2 tsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 a banana, chopped

Method

  1. Brown the onion in a pan with the coconut oil, then add the carrot and celery. Cook for a few minutes.
  2. Add a splash of coconut milk with the curry powder and mix that through. Add the chicken and coat thoroughly.
  3. Add the rest of the coconut milk, the dessicated coconut, the brown sugar and raisins and stir through. Cover and simmer for roughly 15 mins.
  4. At the last moment add in chopped pieces of banana and serve.
2 thoughts on “Hurry Curry

Leave a Reply

