Biscuits

Melting Moments

IMG_4690

It’s official, in only a few short days my family and I will be leaving this house forever. It’s the house I grew up in, and it’s the house where I built all my memories of cooking with my family. So needless to say I’m feeling a little raw right now because I’ll be leaving all of this behind forever. But I know that another family are moving into this house, and their children will get to live here – to love here, like I do. So although  it pains me to go I couldn’t be happier, because I know that everything I love about this house will soon make another family very happy too. But of course this is also one of the last days where I will get to cook in this house so I thought I had better dive in today while I have the same.

I  dove into my copy of At My Mother’s Knee and decided to make Tracey Spicer’s recipe for melting moments. I’ve never made them before, but have always been a big fan of this biscuit. It’s really one of those iconic afternoon tea biscuits that I remember having ever since I was a little girl. I did have a slight catastrophe though because I misread the recipe and put the wrong quantities of flour, icing sugar and cornflour into mix. It wasn’t until I had already rolled them all out and put them on trays that I realised what had happened. But I decided to go ahead and cook them anyway. It turned out to be okay. Although they’re too soft to sandwich with the buttercream I couldn’t believe how good they tasted and how they really still did melt in my mouth. I decided to keep them as single biscuits with buttercream to spread on at leisure. All in all I think it’s been a good way to leave my kitchen, and I can’t wait to begin cooking with a new fan-forced oven and a gas stove top!

Tracey Spicer’s

Melting Moments

Makes: 25, Prep: 25 mins, Cook: 10-15 mins per batch

Ingredients

  • 250g butter, softened
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup icing sugar, sifted
  • 1 1/2 cups plain (all purpose) flour, sifted
  • 1/2 cup cornflour, sifted

Buttercream

  • 90g butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup icing sugar, sifted
  • 1 tsp lemon rind, finely grated
  • 1 tsp lemon juice

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 160 °C and line baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Beat butter,icing sugar and extract together in a small bowl until light and fluffy. Move to a large bowl and stir in the sifted flours in two batches.
  3. Using floured hands roll teaspoons of mixture into balls. Put balls onto trays about 2.5 cm apart and then flatten slightly with a floured fork.
  4. Bake for 10-15 mins and then let biscuits stand for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool.
  5. Meanwhile prepare butter cream.
  6. Beat butter, icing sugar and rind in a small bowl until light and fluffy. Beat in juice.
  7. Sandwich biscuits with butter cream, dust with extra icing sugar and serve.
6 thoughts on “Melting Moments

Leave a Reply

