Beef · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free

Beef Bourguignon (g/f, d/f)

IMG_4569

I thought to myself after the lamington challenge yesterday that I might be too tired to cook today. Apparently I underestimate how much I like to cook, especially when my boyfriend is coming for dinner. So I thought about the options and immediately went to my new cookbook. Sometimes I drift towards my father’s selection, but most of those cookbooks are packed up pending our move. So I flipped through mine in search of a recipe to feed at least five, and luckily At My Mother’s Knee is all about feeding families. I landed on Beef Bourguignon, despite the fact that I tend not to go after slow-cooker, or slow cooking, recipes. I sent out a shopping list, and when I dove into the kitchen my mother also stepped in to help get the work done so we could eat an earlier dinner. I had a lot of gun.

I also made some substitutes with this recipe, especially as I’m lactose intolerant and my father is gluten intolerant. It’s really a straightforward dinner and if you have the time to let it sit I urge you to try it. It’s a classic recipe and can easily be made smaller or larger to cater for different amounts of dinner guests. But I have to confess to not having known Tracey Spicer until trying this recipe of hers. She definitely has my respect now though. And here is the recipe for this delish dish.

Adapted from Tracey Spicer’s

 Beef Bourguignon

Serves: 6, Prep: up to 45 mins, Cook: 2hrs

Ingredients

  • 300g baby brown onions
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2kg gravy beef, trimmed, chopped coarsely
  • 30g coconut oil
  • 400g button mushrooms, halved
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 4 slices of rindless bacon, chopped coarsely.
  • 1/4 cup g/f plain flour
  • 1 1/4 cups g/f beef stock, for example Massel’s
  • 2 1/12 cups dry red wine
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 1/2 cup flat-leaf parsley, coarsely chopped

Method

  • Peel onions, leaving root end intact so onion remains whole during cooking.
  • Heal oil in a large flameproof dish; cook beef in batches until browned. Remove beef.
  • Add coconut oil to the same dish. Cook the onions, bacon, mushrooms, and garlic, stirring, until the onions are browned lightly.
  • Sprinkle the flour over the onion mixture, cook, stirring, until flour mix thickens and bubbles. Gradually add in the stock and wine, stirring until the mixture boils and thickens.
  • Return beef and meat juices to the pot and add bay leaves and thyme. Bring to the boil. Reduce heat and simmer, covered, for 2hrs or until beef is very tender and cooked through. Stir every half an hour.
  • Remove dish from heat and discard bay leaves. Serve topped with parsley.
Leave a Reply

