Misc. Desserts

Lamingtons!

_MG_4495

When I do invent my own recipes, I post them here and on my profile at best home chef. But at first I wasn’t aware that best home chef also has competitions! I entered into one competition with my recipe for lower carb pancakes/pikelets and a few weeks ago I was informed that I was one of the winners! It really excited me to see that my original recipe had been considered good enough by the good staff at best home chef, but more than that it’s really given me a boost of confidence in my culinary skills. I was also super excited to be told that I would be receiving a women’s weekly cookbook. But I didn’t know which one. I tried to keep my hopes down and told myself it was probably only going to be one of the little twenty page books, but this morning as my parcel arrived I was shocked to see a copy of At My Mother’s Knee. It’s an absolutely beautiful cookbook with recipes stories from chefs and well-known personalities about their mothers and their experiences with food and cooking. It has fantastic recipes that are also easy to follow, and features so many beautiful photos and tidbits to compliment each recipe.

I couldn’t let it rest even a day without opening it up. I also couldn’t rest a day without trying to make one of the recipes. It might shock you all to know that I looked for a main food to cook first. It’s because the mains in this book are absolutely fantastic as are their stories. It’s also because the photographs of each dish made them so much more delicious and wholesome to me visually. But I didn’t have any of the ingredients for the mains and I was running short on time. So Instead I flipped through the desserts. At first I thought to cook one of the biscuit recipes, but I have done a lot of biscuits lately, so instead I went for an Aussie classic – lamingtons. I have a long history with lamingtons, but have never actually made them from scratch until today.

I will say that lamingtons are extremely time consuming. So it’s better to cook them with somebody else or to perhaps make the batch smaller. I didn’t realise until I started to cut mine that the original recipe makes megala-lamingtons. I thought it would be too difficult for me to roll them when they’re large, and I was proven right. It was difficult for me to roll the lamingtons even when much smaller in size. But my hard work paid off as lamington after lamington appeared on my cooling rack – coated in chocolate icing and dessicated coconut. So this is definitely a fun – if challenging for beginners type recipe. It was also fun for me to experience something in baking I don’t normally face. I might be great at regular cakes, but sponges are definitely something exciting to improve my skills at.

Margaret Fulton’s

Lamingtons

Makes: 16, Prep + Cook: 50 mins

Sponge Ingredients:

  • 6 eggs
  • 2/3 cup caster sugar
  • 1/3 cup cornflour
  • 1/3 cup self-raising flour
  • 1/2 cup plain flour

Icing Ingredients

  • 4 cups icing sugar, sifted
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder, sifted
  • 15g butter, melted
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 cups dessicated coconut

Method

  • Preheat oven to 180°C and line one rectangular slice pan with baking paper, extending paper 5cm over sides.
  • Beat eggs in a large bowl for about 10 mins, or until volume has all but quadrupled. Beat in the sugar, gradually adding it a little at a time to make sure each addition is properly dissolved.
  • Triple-sift flours and fold into egg mixture.
  • Spread mixture into pan and bake for about 35 mins. (Mine almost burnt, so be careful!)
  • Turn cake immediately onto baking-paper covered wire rack to cool.
  • Meanwhile make the icing.
  • Sift the icing sugar and cocoa into a medium heatproof bowl. Stir in the butter and the milk.
  • Set bowl over a saucepan of simmering water and stir until icing is of a coating consistency.
  • Pour dessicated coconut into a bowl.
  • Cut sponge into 16 pieces. Dip each piece into the icing and then roll to coat in the coconut. Place back on wire rack with the baking paper to set. (I chilled mine)
6 thoughts on “Lamingtons!

  1. Thanks for the recipe, I just made it 🙂 Lovely light sponge, and I filled it with chantilly cream and jam. I found the choc icing a bit sweet, I might just use 3 cups next time 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

