Biscuits · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free

Chocolate Chip Cookies (g/f, d/f)

_MG_4341

So one of the more challenging recipes I have created so far is for gluten free and dairy free chocolate chip cookies! It might at first seem very straightforward, but getting the right mix of almond meal and coconut flour is important. In particular coconut flour can be too dry and almond meal too moist. So it’s better to pick which of these flours will be your staple and then to adjust the rest of the other ingredients accordingly. I chose almond meal for its texture, and then added coconut flour to stop the mixture from being too wet. I then also hunted – and happily found, gluten free and dairy free chocolate chips at my local supermarket. I did hope to also find some white chocolate chips, but so far nothing.

I found this recipe to be really straight forward. I simply replaced the usual sugar – especially the usual brown sugar, with a sugar free, gluten free and dairy free maple syrup. It held together well and gave the cookie a necessary sweetness. In combination with two eggs this gave the recipe a moist edge that was perfectly balanced by the coconut flour. Better still I made the cookies big enough to polish off in two bites. Fantastic!

EDIT: I know these must be good. I ate one of the seventeen, and within the time it took me to write up this post here and in my other blog another ten were scoffed!

Nell’s

Chocolate Chip Cookies (g/f, d/f)

Makes: 17, Prep: 5 mins, Cook: 10 mins

Ingredients

  • 1 cup blanched almond meal
  • 2 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • A pinch of salt flakes
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup (I used walden farms sugar, gluten and dairy free maple syrup)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup dairy free chocolate chips.

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180°C and line some baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Combine the eggs, vanilla and maple syrup.
  3. In a separate bowl combine the dry ingredients. It’s better to sift the coconut flour to get out the lumps.
  4. Stir the dry mix into the wet mix and stir through chocolate chips. Roll into little balls and place onto the trays. Remember to flatten them slightly.
  5. Bake for no more than 10 mins, and let cool before moving to a rack to cool completely.
6 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies (g/f, d/f)

  1. LOL, I probably can’t resist these cookies as well. 🙂 Maybe sunflower seed flour (even grinding the seeds yourself) can work for those who cannot have nuts. Maybe flaxseed meal too?

    Like

    1. I’m actually not sure, but I’m glad that you asked. ^_^ I think if you substitute the almond meal for coconut flour it should work. So change that to one cup of coconut flour and then remove the extra two tablespoons and add some melted coconut oil. I think maybe a quarter of a cup or a third of a cup of melted coconut oil should help keep the mix from getting too dry – which coconut flour is famous for. And for this recipe its important that the cookies are very moist before they go into the oven. Otherwise I think extra maple syrup or an extra egg might also help. However, I would use melted coconut oil first. And unfortunately this is just speculation on my part.

      Also it definitely wouldn’t ruin the recipe if you changed it so please don’t worry about that. Changing recipes to suit allergies is what I do for my father and I, so I absolutely don’t mind if people adapt my recipes to suit their allergies and likes or dislikes, etc. And thank you again for asking. If it does work out please let me know in a comment either on this blog or in my other blog (A Healthier Gourmand, where I’ve posted this recipe as well) I’d like to know how it pans out. ^_^

      Like

Leave a Reply

