Biscuits · Brownies and Misc. Slices · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free

Coconut Chocolate Slice (g/f, d/f) and Lemon and Rosemary Shortbread

coconutchocolateslicenadlemonandrosemaryshortbreadcollage

So in-between work and study I stole a little time to do some baking. It’s been in my head for some time that I could do a more savoury version of my shortbread cookies but until today I hadn’t perfected the recipe. Because there are now four rosemary bushes at my house I decided to go for a traditional savoury flavour of lemon and rosemary shortbread. I do advocate the use of fresh rosemary if you can get it, but in terms of the actual mixture minced rosemary works very well also. If you are able to mince your rosemary or chop it very finely I urge you to do so because it will give you a better spread across the whole dough. Also I am a fan of lemon, but not a huge fan. So I kept the quantity of juice and zest down. It might still be too lemony for some, but not lemony enough for others. So feel free to experiment like I did. I also didn’t alter the base ingredients except to add a little more flour to keep the cookies more crumble and less squish. It worked out very well. So you can also feel free to test out different amounts of flour. But be aware shortbread biscuits are – generally speaking, crumbly.

Secondly I also wanted to bake something for those health conscious folks out there. Interestingly enough the new packet of coconut flour I bought had a recipe for a slice on the back of it. Better still this recipe is both gluten and dairy free. So naturally I plunked the packet in front of me while I was cooking and went with it. I do encourage people to look at packets for recipes, because sometimes they can be real gems. In this case I hadn’t thought of putting coconut flour into a slice – not brownies, but a slice, in this way. So it was very exciting to give it a whirl. I do heartily recommend the use of mugs with this recipe though. It required a lot of measuring little bits and pieces out, and using mugs means you can pop them in the dishwasher as well. Overall it was a very quick and simple dish. So much so that it sort of puts a lot of other slices I’ve made to shame.

Nui’s

Rich Coconut Chocolate Slice

Makes: 16, Prep: 10 mins, Cook: 20 mins

Ingredients

  • 70g raw cacao powder (I used unsweetened cocoa powder)
  • 130g coconut oil, melted
  • 3/4 cup maple syrup (I used a sugar free, diary free and gluten free maple syrup)
  • 50g coconut flour
  • 1/3 cup hazelnuts, roasted and roughly chopped (I used whole almonds)
  • 3 eggs, separated
  • A pinch of salt

Method

  • Prepare a slice tin and preheat oven to 160°C.
  • Combine cacao power with melted coconut oil.
  • Whip egg yolks and maple syrup together until well mixed and cream.
  • Add chocolate mix to maple mix and combine.
  • Gently fold through the flour (remember to sift it!) and nut until well combined.
  • Add salt to egg whites in a separate bowl and whisk until stiff peaks form.
  • Fold egg-whites into main mix and pour into slice tin.
  • Bake for approx 20 mins.
  • Allow to cool before turning out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

 

Nell’s

Lemon and Rosemary Shortbread

Makes: 21, Prep: 5-10 min, Cook: 10 min

Ingredients

  • 1 cup + 2 tbsp plain flour, sifted 
  • 150g unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup caster sugar
  • 2 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • zest of one lemon (about 1 tsp)
  • 2 sprigs rosemary, minced

Method

  • Preheat oven to 180°C and prepare two baking trays with baking paper.
  • Cream the butter and the sugar and add the flour. Stir to combine.
  • Add the lemon juice and lemon zest and stir through.
  • Add the rosemary and stir through.
  • Roll spoonfuls of dough into ball and place on trays. Flatten slightly.
  • Cook for 10 mins (and no more!) and then put onto a wire rack to cool.
2 thoughts on “Coconut Chocolate Slice (g/f, d/f) and Lemon and Rosemary Shortbread

Leave a Reply

