Brownies and Misc. Slices · Cupcakes and Muffins · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free

Banana Brownies and Banana Muffins (g/f, d/f)

bananabrowniesalmondmealmuffinscollage

So apparently I wasn’t the only person on the internet with too many bananas in the freezer and no clear idea of what to do with them. I have some idea that I would bake something healthy and something not so healthy – because of my having guests over tomorrow night. But I puzzled about what exactly to make. I flipped through a few cookbooks but nothing stood out to me. I had already made banana bread, so I didn’t want to bake it again. But banana bread is really one of the best things you can use frozen bananas in. Instead I turned to the internet and browsed a few sites. It was a lucky thing I did because that was where I stumbled upon not one, but two delicious recipes which could satisfy the cravings of my guests and suit my family without upsetting our diets.

So let me introduce the banana brownies, and secondly let me introduce the almond meal banana muffins!

Adapted from Michael Smith’s

Banana Brownies

Makes: 18 brownies, Prep: 15 mins, Cook: 45 mins

Ingredients

  • 200g nestle dark cooking chocolate
  • 1 sticks of butter
  • 4 eggs
  • 4 ripe bananas
  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 1/3 cup caster sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 325 degrees. (I stuck to 150°C)
  2. Melt the chocolate and butter together in a small bowl set over a pot of simmering water.
  3. In a separate bowl, mash together the eggs and bananas. Add the flour, sugar, cocoa and baking powder and stir to combine. Pour in the melted chocolate mixture and stir.
  4. Butter and flour an 8” by 8” baking dish and pour in the batter (I used a large slice pan and got more brownies as a result).
  5. Bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes (I only needed 45 mins), until a toothpick comes out clean and the brownies are firm to the touch.
  6. Note: Yields 8 large or 12 small brownies (if you use the 8×8 dish).


Honest Fare’s

Almond Meal Banana Muffins

Makes:12, Prep:15 mins,Cook: 30-35 mins

Ingredients

  • 9oz sliced almonds + some extra for topping (I used 1 cup of blanched almond meal)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 oz sugar (I used 1/3 cup of natvia)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3 bananas (approximately 1/2 lb peeled) + extra slices for topping
  • Pinch of coarse sea salt (optional for topping if you like)
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder (if doing cocoa center)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 300F (or 150°C).
  2. Grease baking pan of choice (either an 8-9 inch fluted flan tin, a bread dish or muffin tin) and dust with flour OR lightly moisten baking paper and line tin.
  3. Whizz 9 oz almonds and baking powder in food processor until finely ground, but be careful not to go too far or you’ll end up with almond butter. Set aside in bowl. (I simply put the baking powder and almond meal together in a bowl)
  4. Whizz eggs, sugar, bananas and cinnamon for about 5 minutes or until pale and really fluffy ( a hand mixer worked fine here). Pour over almond meal and stir through.
  5. If adding cocoa powder, place 1/3 of batter into separate bowl and stir in 2 tbs of unsweetened cocoa powder.
  6. To create the chocolaty center, first pour 1/2 your original batter into baking tin, then do your dollop of cocoa batter and then pour remaining original batter to cover cocoa.
  7. Top with thinly sliced bananas and almonds.
  8. Bake about 40-45 minutes for bread and 30-35 minutes for muffins, or until top is browned and skewer comes out clean. (I like mine very moist so I cooked them for 25 minutes)
  9. You just don’t want to overcook in the oven because they’ll continue to cook a little as they cool. Sprinkle on sea salt immediately after removing from oven.
4 thoughts on “Banana Brownies and Banana Muffins (g/f, d/f)

Leave a Reply

