Chicken · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free

Thai Red Chicken Curry

20130301_143655

If you were to ask me what my favourite curry recipe would be – it would be thai red chicken curry. It’s mild and flavoursome and disguises many vegetables beneath its subtle, delicious flavours. I have generally always made it from the packet because of time constraints and a desire for simplicity. But as I was going to attend a large family dinner-type event I decided to give making it from scratch a go. Unfortunately, I intended to make it celiac friendly but I ended up accidentally using chicken stock that contained yeast extract. I am still kicking myself over this because I was so cautious with the other ingredients. It did, however, still taste absolutely divine and contains no dairy or lactose as far as I can tell. It was a bit of a touch-and-go type affair as well because I was simply guessing quantities based on the smell of the dish as it cooked.

If it didn’t smell like the recipe I was used to I added more or something – typically chicken stock, fish sauce and thai red curry paste, until it gave off that all-to familiar scent. Fish sauce is a must in most asian dishes, hence why I added it. I chose stock rather than more coconut milk because I assumed it would compliment the chicken. I also used coconut milk rather than cream because I am used to this dish basically being a thin soup with meat and vegetables in it. In hindsight I could have added more spices, but I am still experimenting in that area and apart from onion didn’t know what else would compliment the dish. I could also have put in more vegetables. But as this is a dish also meant for children that I know don’t always like their veggies I kept it simple, sticking to the two vegetables that I know compliment the dish like no other: carrot and cauliflower. It’s also a dish that lends itself well to white rice and toasted bread – in particular grain bread. I fully encourage you all to try both options and see which you like best. I also suggest this recipe for large dinners, because it’s a one-pot type meal that can be very filling and can go a long way. I know I tend to break out thai red curry recipes when I have lots of guests. But I will definitely work on a celiac friendly version for next time.

Nell’s

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Serves: 4-6, Prep: 10 mins, Cook: 40mins-1hr

Ingredients

  • 3.5 cups chicken stock (I used salt reduced)
  • 3 tbsp thai red curry paste
  • 1 medium brown onion, diced
  • 3 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 500g diced chicken breast
  • 250g cauliflower (I use frozen)
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • 400ml coconut milk (I used lite coconut milk)
  • Rice to serve or bread

Method

  1. Prepare the vegetables. Place the onion, chicken and red curry paste in a big pot on the stove and heat until chicken is semi-browned.
  2. Pour in the coconut milk, stock and fish sauce. Stir thoroughly.
  3. Add the carrot and cauliflower.
  4. Bring to the boil and then reduce heat and simmer for 40 mins-1hr.
  5. Serve with rice or bread.
4 thoughts on “Thai Red Chicken Curry

  1. I love this type of dish. Looks like a crowd-pleaser. 🙂 Sometimes I make my own chicken stock and freeze it for later–then no worries of unwanted additives!

    Like

Leave a Reply

