Misc. Desserts

Chocolate Pudding

DSC00155

If getting work that better suits your study timetable isn’t worth celebrating over, I don’t know what is. I have always struggled to balance work and study, particularly because my old jobs were so much more physical than you’d expect. As a result I was always tired after my shifts and unable to focus on assignments or homework. But because I am now in my last year of university and I really want to finish with a bang I have decided to stick to work that you do less, but get paid more for – tutoring. It’s not only a great way to earn quick cash, it’s a delight to be able to help other students get a grip on the things they’ve struggled with and to give them a sense of accomplishment as they improve their skills.

I also do a full clean of our house once a week in place of a professional cleaner. It means I now know how to clean a house properly, and my parents can never tell me I don’t do enough to help them around the house! So I decided to celebrate managing to get the dream job I was after while at University by having a big dinner and a delicious dessert that is lactose, sugar and gluten free. So naturally I went straight to the fast paleo recipe sharing website to find something I could whip up in a hurry. I discovered a delicious Chocolate Pudding, with a base of banana and coconut milk. Seeing this as an excellent opportunity to get out some of the brand new dessert glasses I bought from revolve I set about putting it together. I would only suggest that if you aren’t a fan of the more bitter chocolate flavour of unsweetened cocoa powder that you look at adding some sugar-free, gluten-free, etc-free sweetener to the mix.

Smhavlin’s

Chocolate Pudding

Serves: 5, Prep: 5 mins, Chill: 30-40 mins

Ingredients

  • 400ml coconut milk
  • 2 (almost ripe) bananas
  • 1/4 cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon (I used 1 teaspoon)
  • 1 tbsp gelatine powder
  • 100ml boiling/boiled water

Method

  1. Excluding the gelatine and water, combine all the ingredients in a blender and blitz until smooth.
  2. In a separate container sprinkle the gelatin powder over the boiling water and gently mix until completely dissolved.
  3. Incorporate the gelatine mix into the chocolate pudding mix in the blender and blitz on low speed.
  4. When fully combined pour the mixture into glass bowls or moulds an refrigerate for at least 30-40 mins so the gelatine can set.
  5. Serve with cream or with hot mixed berries – chef’s suggestion.
4 thoughts on “Chocolate Pudding

Leave a Reply

