Chicken

Chicken Chow Mein


_MG_3880

Hello, my name is Nell and I am an asian food addict. But seriously, I am not the only person in this country or any other to have this same love for asian cuisine. However, I have actually given my love for asian food some serious thought because it always seemed strange to me that I could eat fish fillets in asian cuisine but would run and hide from fish fillets done in a more western style. I love vegetables so long as they’re in pikelet or pancake form, but even that comes from my love of Okonomiyaki – a famous Japanese dish. So what is it about asian cuisine that appeals to so many? Is it the huge variety of dishes – from snacks to mains to desserts, or is it the fact that each asian country has a cuisine that is so unique and influenced by their culture and history? Is it that each cuisine uses different spices and herbs with so much creativity, or is it simply that their flavours are one of a kind?

As I have mentioned in previous posts I am a big fan of food magazines, in particular I love Recipes +, Superfoodideas Magazine and Good Food Magazine. But only the first two of the aforementioned three are budget recipe magazines. In fact one of their key selling points is that they themselves are cheap and their recipes are even cheaper. I also like their competitions and the many suggestions they put at the bottom of their recipes. If you struggle to figure out what to make for dinner/dessert then these magazines really are a boon. And as a slightly more poor than before uni student I can also attest to how cheap and quick the recipes are.

Superfoodideas Magazine’s

Chicken Chow Mein

Serves: 3 (with seconds), Prep: 10 mins, Cook: 5-10 mins

Ingredients

  • 450g hokkien noodles (or gluten-free noodles like rice noodles)
  • 2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tbsp salt reduced soy-sauce
  • 1 tbsp salt-reduced tomato sauce (I used sweet chilli)
  • 2 teaspoons cornflour
  • 500g chicken breast fillet, cut into strips (I used 600g beef strips)
  • 2 carrots, cut into batons
  • 4 green onions (shallots), thinly sliced.
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 250g snow peas, thickly sliced lengthways (I used 200g of green capsicum)
  • Oil, to use in the pan (I used rice bran oil)

Method

  1. Prepare noodles as per instructions on packet.
  2. Combine vinegar, soy sauce, tomato sauce and cornflour in a bowl.
  3. Heat wok or frying pan, add some of the oil and stir-fry the meat in batches until browned and then transfer to a plate or bowl.
  4. Add more oil, then add vegetables and stir-fry for two mins or until tender. Add garlic and stir-fry for 30 secs.
  5. Return meat to wok or pan and then add noodles and sauce and stir through.
  6. Serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

