Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free · Misc.

Pikelets (gluten-free, dairy-free, lower carb)

_MG_3768

As you can see lower carb pancakes and pikelets don’t always tend to stick together like the full carb versions. But is that really as bad thing? In my mind it means that my breakfast comes to me in convenient bite sized pieces that I only have to cover with sugar-free, gluten-free maple syrup and thickened cream before shovelling into my mouth. I also like low-carb pancakes/pikelets because they fill me up more than regular pancakes do. It’s also nice to know that I’m not eating something filled with flour and sugar, because really – adding sweet to sweet isn’t always my thing. I prefer a more savoury pancake with sweet added to it. And that was exactly what I got with this recipe. In fact I’m eating them as I type this, so I can safely say that they’re delicious!

And I am only calling mine lower carb pikelets because I didn’t do an actual carb count on them. But if somebody does then please let me know your result.

Nell’s

Pikelets

Makes: 10, Prep: 5 min, Cook: approx. 10-15 mins

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder (gluten-free)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (sugar-free if you can get it)
  • 2 cups coconut milk
  • 1 pinch sea salt
  • 1 tbsp melted butter (or coconut oil for dairy-free version)

Method

  1. Heat a pan and use coconut oil for greasing.
  2. Combine wet ingredients and then mix the coconut flour and baking powder through very thoroughly to avoid getting any lumps.
  3. Spoon mixture into prepared pan, but expect to have difficulties turning them so be prepared to cook no more than three at a time.
  4. Place on a plate and eat while hot with sugar-free, gluten-free toppings or with butter or icing sugar.

NOTES: I use Walden Farms’ Maple Syrup because it’s gluten-free, sugar-free and low in calories without skimping on the taste.

4 thoughts on “Pikelets (gluten-free, dairy-free, lower carb)

  1. They sound delicious! I’m surprised they don’t hold together with 3 eggs?! I would think they would, even if there’s no gluten. I guess because it’s such a small amount if flour. Regardless, they look yummy!

    Like

    1. It is strange, but I think it’s the coconut flour that’s doing it. In my experience coconut flour doesn’t act like regular flour, so it often helps to mix it with things like almond or hazelnut meal. ^_^ And thanks for the lovely compliments.

      Like

Leave a Reply

