Beef

Beef Pad Thai

_MG_3675

I can’t say exactly when I was introduced to Pad Thai. I suspect that as a child I probably turned my nose up at it because it contained the dreaded b word, bean-sprouts, and so didn’t ever try it. But nowadays its one of those dishes I automatically look for on a restaurant menu if I ever scrounge up the money to go out. It’s also now one of those asian dishes you find the packets for everywhere, with instructions like just add prawns, etc. Of course some people, like Marion, try to keep it authentic by having natural spices and flavours, but I prefer always to cook my own sauces and things from scratch. And as a good friend of mine requested the recipe for Pad Thai, I dove straight into my cook books for one I know is quick, simple and delish. Naturally it was from my 200 Really Easy Recipes Cookbook, from the Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook Seriesas they have a lot of budget recipes that are also nice and quick to make. And here was the result.

I fully recommend pad thai, as it can also be made to suit vegetarian diets by not adding any meat and sticking to tofu. But as my guests today aren’t fans of tofu I went in the opposite direction and put only meat in as well. I would also recommend doubling the recipe if you want it to feed more than two or three people, which is what I did today. I also recommend adding extra sauce, that is by either adding another half of their recommended ingredient amounts for the sauce or by doubling it, because otherwise it might not be as flavoursome as you like. I know some people don’t like it dripping with sauce, but I do.

Adapted from Hamlyn’s

Pad Thai

Serves: 2-3, Prep: 10 mins, Cook: 10-12 mins

Ingredients

  • 250g rice noodles
  • 1 1/2 tbsp sweet soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 tbsp lime juice
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1 tbsp water
  • At least 3tbsp oil
  • 2 garlic gloves, sliced
  • 1 small red chilli, deseeded
  • 200g beef stirfry strips
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 125g bean-sprouts
  • 4tbsp salted peanuts, chopped

Method

  1. Cook noodles in boiling water for five minutes, then drain and rinse under cold water.
  2. Combine soy sauce, water, lime juice and fish sauce in a bowl and set aside.
  3. Heat oil in a wok or frying pan, add the garlic and chilli and stir-fry over medium heat for 30 seconds.
  4. Add the beef and stir-fry or 2-3 minutes until heated through and cooked.
  5. Push noodle mixture aside to make a hole in the middle of the pan, add eggs and let heat until a layer of cooked egg forms at the bottom. And then scramble with your wooden spoon and mix back into the noodle mix.
  6. Add soy sauce mix and cook for 1 minute or until stirred through and heated. Stir in the bean sprouts and serve immediately topped with peanuts.
4 thoughts on “Beef Pad Thai

  1. Oh man I love this posts for so many reasons. First, the name of your blog is awesome (I like to tell my boyfriend I need a feed all the time…works pretty well in terms of getting food in my mouth!). Also, your pad thai looks totally pro. I’ve always wanted to be able to make it well at home, but I’ve only tried once and it wasn’t quite right. This recipe looks so easy, like one I could totally follow (minus the chili maybe…I’m not huge on spicy). So yay! I’m excited to try this soon!

    Like

    1. 😀 I’m super glad you like the blog and this post, and thank you for the lovely compliments XD. It really is a straightforward recipe that shouldn’t cause you any troubles, and if you want less spice I recommend using sweet chilli sauce as you still get that chilli flavour but without any of the heat. ^_^ I fully recommend trying it out, as it was a delish dinner and lunch for my family and friends and I.

      Like

Leave a Reply

