Misc.

Vegetable Frittatas

_MG_3651

I know that finding tasty and healthy snacks can sometimes be a challenge, particularly if you’re strapped for cash and time. But  for me the real deal breaker was the desire to not have to feast on absolute junk from the vending machine during my work-break tonight. So I opened my latest edition of Recipes + magazine, one I highly recommend for all you budget chefs out there, and discovered a whole two weeks worth of lunch-box ideas from sausage rolls all the way to the choice I made for today – vegetable frittatas. I am a big fan of frittatas, okonomiyaki and other vegetable-based pancakes, so naturally I dove straight into this one. It was simple, fast, and from the bits I broke off to test – delicious! I look forward to eating them tonight!

Recipe+’s

Veggie Frittatas

Makes: 6, Prep: 5 mins, Cook: 5-10 mins

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup plain flour
  • 1 1/2 cups cabbage, finely shredded
  • 2 green onions (shallots), sliced
  • 1/2 a carrot, grated
  • 1/2 a zucchini, grated
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup vegetable stock (I used chicken stock, salt reduced)

Method

  1. Place all the ingredients in a bowl, minus the egg and stock, and  stir to combine.
  2. Place egg and stock in a cup/jug and whisk to combine. Pour over the other mixture and stir to combine.
  3. Put at least 2tbsp of oil in a frying pan and drop 1/3 cup measures of mixture in.
  4. Cook for two minutes either side, or until cooked and golden brown.
  5. Keep chilled.
6 thoughts on “Vegetable Frittatas

      1. hehe… I think I am lucky in that regard as I love veggies and have no problem with any of them really. I just want to eat more of them in general… and find ways of “healthifying” some of the sweet things I make 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

