Gluten-Free · Misc. Desserts

Banana Bread (Paleo and gluten-free)

 

_MG_3582

I like a challenge, especially when it comes to cooking. I like the idea of cooking new things I have never cooked before, and I like the idea of cooking with new equipment, new methods, etc. So as I am currently on a drive to be baking sweet or sugar-filled foods for guests and friends only – so as to not to have them hanging around the place to get chummy with my thighs – and while I’m trying to make new and delicious main dishes, I am also exploring low-carb and paleo desserts and baked goods. If I can find a dessert that isn’t filled with sugar that’s wholesome and delicious and doesn’t threaten my family’s diet, then by all means I will accept that challenge!

However, before I could even start a search my father sent me an email with a recipe by a paleo-focused chef who’s cookbook he also has (Civilised Caveman Cooking Creations Website). It was a recipe for one of my favourite desserts in the whole word, banana bread, and better still it was based on coconut flour and didn’t have any added sugar, making it both allergen friendly and lower in carbohydrates than your standard banana bread. So how could I possibly turn down the opportunity to make a delicious dessert without sugar and plenty of bananas? Of course I couldn’t. And here is the result~

George’s

Paleo Banana Bread

Serves: 8, Prep: 10 mins, Cook: 55-60 mins

Ingredients

  • 4 bananas
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup almond butter/nut butter
  • 4 tbsp butter melted/coconut oil melted
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda (I always use 1/2 tsp bicarb soda because we don’t have “baking soda” here, but they may actually be the same thing)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Pinch sea salt

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C and prepare a loaf tin.
  2. Combine bananas, eggs, nut butter and butter in a blender or food processor, or mix well with a mixer.
  3. Add dry ingredients with vanilla and sea salt, then mix well again.
  4. Pour batter into loaf tin and spread evenly, then cook for 55-60 minutes, or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.
  5. Remove from oven and cool on a wire rack.
6 thoughts on “Banana Bread (Paleo and gluten-free)

  1. It does look rather delicious, and banana bread is one of my favourite things. Unfortunately I’m not really supposed to eat banana anymore, apparently they have too much potassium for me.

    I have to admit I’m slightly concerned with the only baking sugary sweet things for friends part… While they are certainly delightful, I don’t know that I need them to be getting chummy with my thighs either. I guess if you need someone to sacrifice themselves in order to test your desserts, I’ll have to man up and do it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

