Beef

Beef Lasagne and Salad

_MG_3570

I don’t know whether it was fate or simply good luck, but whatever it was that turned my head to the GoodFood magazine on that magazine shelf is officially wonderful. I have now cooked three recipes from the 200+ quick meals booklet attached to it, more than I normally cook in a row from one single cookbook, and so far each recipe has turned out to be really great. I was particularly impressed with the latest recipe, although I did alter it pretty drastically to fit my time constraints. It was quick, delicious – and better still there’s now plenty left for lunch. Originally the recipe was meant to be a beef rotolo bake with salad, but I can’t say that I’m a fan of rocket and as I was the only one eating I didn’t bother making up a salad as we already had plenty in the fridge. Unfortunately I also couldn’t find the right sort of lasagne sheets to be able to roll them, so I turned the whole thing into a super quick, but tasty lasagne.

It’s been an age since I’ve baked a lasagne, but it was definitely worth doing. It took me about five minutes to prepare and even in my wicked old oven it didn’t take that much longer than the recipe specified. I would recommend this recipe if only because its quick and simple and tasty, and there’s plenty of room to add your own flavours.

Adapted from GoodFood Magazine’s

Beef Lasagne and Salad Recipe

Serves: 5-6, Prep: 15 minutes, Cook: 35 minutes

Ingredients

  •  500g pork mince
  • 100g of beef mince
  • 1 cup grated parmesan
  • 4 fresh lasagne sheets
  • 50g baby rocket, plus 70g extra to serve
  • 500g tomato puree
  • 3 tomatoes, extra
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 200°C, or 180°C if using fan-forced.
  2. Combine mince and half of the grated parmesan in a bowl and season. Combine the piree with 2 tbsp of balsamic vinegar and season.
  3. Place one lasagne sheet at the bottom of your dish, then layer it with mince and a little of the rocket, then pour over the tomato puree. Repeat this process to create the layers of lasagne, topping the final layer with the remaining parmesan and a drizzle of olive oil.
  4. Cook covered by foil for 20 minutes. Remove foil and bake for another 15 minutes, or until cooked through and golden.
  5. Place extra rocket and extra tomato in a bowl. Add remaining balsamic vinegar and olive oil, season to taste and toss to combine.
  6. Serve beef lasagne with salad.
Leave a Reply

