Misc. Desserts

Rocky Road

_MG_3512

I have often wondered about the history of rocky road. About when it was first made and how it was named, popularised, etc. However, the history books seem confused as to whether or not it was an australian invention, an american invention or a british invention. But personally I think I like it like that. I like the idea that it’s a food that’s so iconic and well known to so many countries, and I’m glad that  nowadays it’s such a common thing that we all know what we’re talking about when we mention this sweet-treat. Even I used to make it to my mum’s recipe when I was still so little I had trouble stirring with a big wooden spoon. But I decided that for my original version I wanted to do things a little differently, I wanted a little bit of flavour that you don’t normally find in rocky road, and after puzzling it over with my friends I hit upon my concept. It would be rocky road s’mores – or to be more accurate all the ingredients for s’mores in my rocky road!

It’s also hard to believe that I get to be around for what will be the last triple digit day in a long time,, and that my blog has come so far. It’s been not such a long time since I started this blog, but I feel like every day I’m learning more about the art of food blogging and my goals for what I want this blog to become are slowly getting clearer and firmer in my mind. I am also finding that I enjoy cooking even more than I used to, and there’s a lot of joy in sharing recipes and admiring the recipes of others. So I am extremely glad I started this blog, and extremely glad all of you have come to see it! Unfortunately I can’t physically bake you all a thank-you gift, but here is one I hope you will all want to make yourselves…

Nell’s

Rocky Road

Serves: 10-12, Prep: 10-15 minutes, Chill: 1hr

Ingredients

  • 400g dark cooking chocolate
  • 200g marshmellows, roughly chopped
  • 100g crushed hazelnuts
  • 1/4 dessicated coconut
  • 4 shortbread biscuits, crushed into small pieces

Method

  1. Prepare a slice pan either with baking paper or gladwrap, set aside.
  2. Chop up the marshmellows and combine in a big bowl with hazelnuts, coconut and biscuit pieces. Stir thoroughly to combine.
  3. Break the chocolate into small pieces and then melt, either over the stove top or in the microwave.
  4. Pour the chocolate over the other ingredients and stir through thoroughly.
  5. Pour mixture into the slice pan, making sure all gaps are filled and the mix is pressed together firmly.
  6. Chill for at least an hour and then chop up into smaller pieces to serve.
2 thoughts on “Rocky Road

Leave a Reply

