Biscuits

Gingerbread Cookies


_MG_3460

After my success with my first original recipe I decided I would try again with something a little more special – a christmas recipe. I have always loved gingerbread houses, gingerbread men – and the latest fad of ninjabread men. But it was the first time that I had ever considered making my own version from scratch. It was a bit more nerve-wracking because I was doing everything without a guideline and my memories of dough consistency and how long you ought to leave it in the fridge were hazy. However it proved to be utterly delicious and soft – exactly how I like my gingerbread biscuits to be!

I’m giving these away as presents so naturally I wanted them to look as good as possible, but when I used my chocolate writing pens I discovered that for some reason the chocolate wouldn’t set as it had on previous cooking expeditions. So when piling them together the outlines became smudged and awkward. I didn’t know why suddenly the chocolate wouldn’t set when it has every other time before, but I would recommend using proper icing in the future. However, it was still not a complete mess as it means my friends will be able to have an excuse to lick their fingers!

Also the amount of nutmeg was a happy accident, because I thought I was putting in ground ginger when it fact I had grabbed the spice next to it. It turned out to be spot on, so I quickly grabbed the actual ginger and added that to the mix. It’s a delightful recipe I had a lot of fun inventing, and I hope my friends think it’s as yummy as I do! Also you don’t need a rolling-pin for this recipe as I always flour some sort of sauce bottle and use that instead. But do make sure to keep using plenty of flour while rolling to prevent the dough sticking.

Nell’s

Gingerbread Cookies

Makes: 30 , Prep: 20-25 mins, Chill: 30 mins minimum, Cook: 10-15 mins

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups plain flour, sifted
  • 6 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp golden syrup
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp. mixed spice
  • 1 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 75g unsalted butter, softened

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C and line a baking tray with baking paper.
  2. Combine butter and sugar.
  3. Add egg, beating well after this addition, beat through golden syrup.
  4. Sift in dry ingredients and mix well.
  5. Let dough sit in the fridge, wrapped in glad-wrap for at least half an hour.
  6. Lay the dough out on a floured surface and roll out.
  7. Make as many cookies as you can by re-using the scraps squished back together and then rolled out again.
  8. Lay the cookies on the prepared tray (option here to add smarties as decorations, etc) and then cook for 10 minutes until lightly browned on the bottom and then turn out onto a wire rack to cool.
  9. Decorate with icing, or dust with icing sugar, etc.
9 thoughts on “Gingerbread Cookies

  1. Thank you so much for coming by my blog! Means alot to me! These cookies look soo scrumptious and super cute. I just made Gingersnap muffins today so I’m right there with you and these flavors. They are so festive aren’t they?! Yours look heavenly.

    Like

    1. 😀 Not at all, your blog is filled with delicious recipes! And I respect a cook who can make such tasty gluten-free recipes! I also hope we get to see those gingersnap muffins on your blog~ And thank you very much, I do love christmas flavours and christmas cooking so I’m glad they look good! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

