Misc. Desserts

Raspberry Clafoutis

_MG_3334

The recipe for this amazing dish came from here, although I do recommend using lower dishes for clafoutis, and not only because they photograph better and have that nice – the food is overflowing with deliciousness type look, but also because it cooks a bit more smoothly. However this recipe was a rip-roaring success, and I do suggest using vanilla ice-cream or icing sugar on the top as those two flavours would compliment the dish very well. I had a few favourable reviews for the creme fraiche, but I don’t know if I had enough to warrant recommending it as the sole add-on.

_MG_3310

Also I couldn’t find any mixed berry punnets at my local grocery store so I stuck solely to raspberries. It was a good choice because I still have some Fragoli left over and as the recipe suggested I soaked the berries in the berry liqueur and it gave them a very wholesome flavour. I’m going to miss my Fragoli when it’s gone, but due to limited space I’m told I have to use up what I have before I go out and buy more.

Adapted from Brigitte Hafner’s

Berry Clafoutis

Serves: 4-6, Prep: 5-10 mins, Cook: 20-25 mins

Ingredients

  • butter for greasing
  • 2 punnets of raspberries
  • 2 tbsp berry liqueur
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup cream
  • 1/4 cup castor sugar, plus 3 tbsp extra
  • 3 eggs
  • 2/3 cup plain flour, sifted
  • 1 tsp rosewater

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 210C and grease a large, but low, ceramic dish.
  2. Toss berries in a bowl with the alcohol, then tip into the dish.
  3. Make a batter by beating the milk, cream, sugar and eggs into the flour. Add the rosewater and pour over the raspberries. Sprinkle with the extra sugar and bake for 20-25 mins or until just set and light golden brown.
  4. Serve immediately with either whipped cream, creme fraiche or ice-cream.
2 thoughts on “Raspberry Clafoutis

  1. 😄 Merci! I was actually pretty nervous about this one because it was put into one large dish instead of several low ramekins. I thought it might not cook properly in the middle before the outside was set, but it turned out to be delicious. ^_^

    Like

Leave a Reply

