Misc. Desserts

Orange Bread and Butter Pudding

mg_3074.jpg

I can safely say that bread and butter pudding was not my favourite dessert as a little girl. I was always put off by the strange mushy appearance and the idea of soggy bread. But years later, on a particularly adventurous day, I dove in. It was delicious, and it’s stuck with me ever since. In fact, before I started baking brownies bread and butter pudding was my signature dish. However I usually made it on gluten-free bread to account for allergies, and today I chose to do it with regular white bread. Here was where I got the recipe.

I cheated with this recipe because it called for you to melt the marmalade, etc, and I simply didn’t have the time so I spread the marmalade thickly over every slice. I also don’t generally chop my bread up because I like the uniformity that the bread triangles give you and I am used to doing this dish quick smart and at a moment’s notice so bread triangles are simply what I’m used to. I do recommend that you try bread chunks however as then you get more even soaking. I also recommend that you remove the bread crusts to stop them going hard, but as I love a good chewy crust I leave mine on.

Adapted from Valli Little’s

Orange Bread and Butter Pudding

Serves: 6-8, Prep: 10-15 mins, Cook: 35-40 mins

Ingredients

  • 400g g/f white bread, cut into traingles
  • 150g melted butter
  • 290g orange marmalade, spread over the bread
  • 3 eggs
  • 500ml thin cream
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 3 tbs demerara sugar

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and grease a 16 x 32 x 5cm baking dish.
  2. Cut bread into rough chunks and place in a large bowl. Pour over butter.
  3. Place marmalade in a saucepan over low heat until warm, then pour over bread.
  4. Add orange segments and carefully stir to combine. Tip mixture into prepared dish.
  5. Beat together rind, eggs, cream and caster sugar, then pour over bread.
  6. Sprinkle top with demerara sugar and bake in the oven for 35-40 minutes until golden.
2 thoughts on “Orange Bread and Butter Pudding

  1. :3 Thank you! ^_^ I always made it gluten-free because my Dad has some pretty powerful allergies. But the mixture – particularly when done with spices like cinnamon or nutmeg, completely disguises the usual off-taste you get from gluten-free bread. Or at least the taste you used to get, as the gluten-free bread seems to be improving. ^_^

    Like

Leave a Reply

