Brownies and Misc. Slices · Food With Friends

Vanilla Slice

_MG_2994

As a little girl I often indulged in my mother’s vanilla slice, but I rarely if ever took part in creating it. It was one of those more complex dishes that chubby little hands couldn’t have easily managed, but I wish – after giving it a try today, that I had tried it sooner. I absolutely love custard, I love vanilla and I love passionfruit. I also love biscuits. So naturally when you throw all of those things in together what you get is one dish of delish! However I didn’t use my mother’s recipe for this because hers is much larger and not quite as quick. Instead I simply used one I found on the back of the Arnott’s Latice Biscuits packet, because those were the biscuits I used.

It was a quick and delicious dessert to make, it went very well after a good dinner with my friend Andrew who helped me make it. I fully recommend this to people who are looking for a many person dish but who don’t want to go to the trouble of cooking up brownies or another type of slice. I did however double the recipe to account for the number of people who would be eating it.

Adapted from Arnott’s

Vanilla Slice

Serves: 6-8, Prep: 50-55 mins, Chill: 1hr

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup custard powder
  • 1/4 cup  caster sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 packet of Arnott’s Latice Biscuits

Icing

  • 1 cup icing sugar
  • Dashes of passionfruit pulp in syrup

Method

  1. Place custard powder and sugar in a saucepan with enough milk to form a smooth paste. Add the rest of the milk and the vanilla.
  2. Put the saucepan on the stove and bring to the boil until the mixture thickens, stirring constantly. Remove from the stove and cover the custard with gladwrap to stop a skin from forming. Cool until completely cool.
  3. Create icing by mixing passionfruit pulp in syrup with icing sugar until desired texture is achieved.
  4. Lay half of the packet of lattice biscuits out on a tray, then cover with the custard. Top with the rest of the biscuits and then top with the icing. Chill for at least half an hour before serving.
Leave a Reply

