Custards and Mousses and Pots

Strawberry Mousse

Mousse, I absolutely love mousse. I love milk chocolate mousse, I love dark chocolate mousse – in fact, my speciality is dark chocolate mousse with baileys. But last night was the first time I have ever whipped up a fruit-based mousse, and the result was amazing! I found the recipe here.

It was a quick, delicious and overall quite satisfying dessert that I highly recommend having with melted chocolate – lindt 70%, or with chocolate grated over the top as in my picture. In this recipe I also used a punnet’s worth of strawberries grown in my own backyard, which – after this recipe, brings me to my next part of the post.

Maryann Manchee’s

Strawberry Mousse

Serves: 6-8, Prep: 30 mins +, Chill: N/A

Ingredients

  • 1 punnet of strawberries (I used about 250g)
  • 2 tsp water
  • 1tsp gelatine
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup cream
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice

Method

  1. Wash and hull strawberries, mash well or blend.
  2. Add gelatine to water, stand for 5 minutes then dissolve over hot water. (I used one mug for the gelatine water mix and then sat  it on top of another mug filled with boiled water)
  3. beat egg whites until soft peaks form, then gradually add sugar – beating until dissolved.
  4. Whip cream until soft peaks form.
  5. Fold in egg white mixture.
  6. Add strawberries, lemon juice and gelatine, and fold through lightly.
  7. Pour into wet moulds/ramekins/mugs/wine glasses.
  8. Refrigerate until set
7 thoughts on “Strawberry Mousse

      1. I’m afraid that the slugs always used to get my strawberries, so I’ve given up with them! I’m growing rhubarb instead now, which isn’t quite the same, but at least we have a crop to enjoy!!
        Emma 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

