Custards and Mousses and Pots · Gluten-Free

Creme Caramel

Friends really are amazing, and I don’t mean that in a cheesy way. If I’m with happy and cheery friends even a bad meal can seem great, which of course means that an amazing meal is just mouth-wateringly outstanding. I meant to post a review about this a while ago, but now I finally will sing my praises for my friend Ashleigh, the amazing skills of her mother and what a great time I had at her house. It was a basic start-off with the cookies from one of my older posts, but sitting on the deck overlooking their garden was very nice. It was quickly followed by a delicious dinner with some uniquely flavoured bread, and a delicious bowl of pasta and homemade sauce that I really wish I had gotten the recipe for. But naturally, being a dessert lover, my favourite part was what came at the end.

Ashleigh’s mother cooked us these amazing creme caramels. It was a sweet, creamy, delicious dessert that she made without any recipe at all, just guesswork and her own talent. She told me she hadn’t really cooked it before, which tells me how skilled a cook she is in all areas, from mains, to snacks and sides to desserts. I thoroughly enjoyed the meal as well as the dessert, and I hope that I keep getting invited back for both the good company and the food! And for those of you who want to whip up some creme caramels yourselves, here is a Donna Hay version that’s worked well for me before.

Donna Hay’s

Creme Caramel

Serves: 4, Prep: N/A, Cook: 43-45 mins, Chill: 2hrs

Ingredients

  • ⅔ cups caster sugar
  • ⅓ cup water
  • ¾ cup milk
  • ¾ cup pouring cream
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 egg yolks, extra
  • ⅓ cupcaster sugar, extra
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 150°C (300°F). Place the sugar and water in a saucepan over high heat and stir until the sugar is dissolved. Bring to the boil and cook for 8–10 minutes or until the mixture is dark golden. Pour into 4 x ¾ cup-capacity (180ml) ovenproof dishes.
  2. Set aside for 5 minutes or until the caramel is set.
  3. Place the milk and cream in a saucepan over medium heat until it just comes to the boil. Remove from heat.
  4. Place the eggs, extra yolks, extra sugar and vanilla in a bowl and whisk until well combined. Gradually add the milk mixture, whisking to combine. Strain the mixture and pour into the dishes. Place dishes in a water bath.
  5. Bake for 35 minutes or until set. Remove from the dish and refrigerate for 2 hours or until cold. Remove the crème caramels from the fridge 30 minutes before serving. Turn out onto plates to serve.
Leave a Reply

