Custards and Mousses and Pots · Gluten-Free

Chocolate Pots

Once again I was delighted by my friends coming over to help with housework because it meant I was able to whip up another dessert. I dipped again into my copy of Just Ten Minutes, a brilliant cookbook which I really recommend you get if you like quick, cheat-ski recipes for both dinner and lunch, or even dessert, like I do. My recipe for tonight was the cheat’s chocolate pots, a very quick, simple and cheap recipe which took myself and a friend less than five minutes to make.

It’s a delicious chocolate mixture which works well on its own, but is even better with fresh cream and strawberries. Not to blow my parents’ horn or anything, of course, but their home grown strawberries are pretty amazing and flavoursome – as you can see in the picture above. It’s also a mixture which a friend of mine rightly pointed out could work well as icing or ganache on a very rich cake if you spread it very thinly, but in little ramekins it’s a real treat.

One problem I did have was that the vanilla – we think, caused the chocolate to freeze up so it became stiff and crumbly. I have since cooked this recipe a second time – using standard nestle old gold dark chocolate instead of baking chocolate, and Fragoli instead of vanilla, and the mixture was as smooth as it was meant to be. I take from this a theory that when using vanilla and melted chocolate it might be better to try regular chocolate instead of baking chocolate, and perhaps to be prepared for a stiff and slightly drier mixture. It was certainly delicious even though it was stiff, but I got taste testers (my friends) for the second, much smoother batch and they preferred the second lot due to texture. Overall they said the taste was the same – excepting the Fragoli, but the texture was an improvement!

Adapted from Just Ten Minutes’

Cheat’s Chocolate Pots

Serves: 8-10, Prep: 5 mins, Chill: at least 20 mins

Ingredients

  • 140g regular dark chocolate, e.g. nestle old gold.
  • 400ml double cream
  • 1tsp fragoli (or another liqueur)

Method

  1. Melt chocolate in a bowl over simmering – not boiling, water, or in microwave.
  2. Gradually stir in cream and fragoli until mixture is smooth.
  3. Pour into ramekins or small coffee cups and leave to chill until ready to serve.
  4. Garnish with cream and fresh strawberries, or whipped cream and crumbled flake chocolate.
4 thoughts on “Chocolate Pots

Leave a Reply

