Custards and Mousses and Pots · Gluten-Free

Syllabub (contains alcohol)

It’s been pretty busy around my house lately – what with the renovations, etc. But as my friends have all agreed to pitch in and help us I wanted to whip up a quick and tasty dessert. Luckily I have a pretty handy cookbook which I bought for only about five dollars at a last chance book sale called Just Ten Minutes. It’s actually a brilliant little cookbook that I have also used to whip up some tasty lamb cutlets. So I flipped through this book and pulled out the recipe for Syllabub, as if there is any opportunity for me to cook with liquor or liqueurs then I will take it!

Apparently Syllabub is an english dessert which became popularised around the sixteenth century, although their version was cows being milked into barrels of beer – or so I’m told. It’s actually a very flavoursome dessert and I highly recommend it for desserts where you want to add a little variety or brandy-sweet. In this case the recipe does actually call for brandy so I was delighted to whip out my plum brandy, but it’s important to remember that you still need to vary amounts for guests who don’t like too much alcohol.

Just Ten’s Minutes

Syllabub

Serves: 4-6, Prep: 5-10mins, Chill time 2-3hrs,

Ingredients

  • 3 tbsp brandy
  • 3 tbsp white wine
  • 600ml double cream
  • 6 tbsp clear honey
  • Flaked Almonds, to Serve

Method

  1. Combine Brandy and White Wine in a bowl.
  2. Whip the cream in a large bowl until just thickened.
  3. Add the honey to the cream and whip again for about 15 seconds.
  4. Pour the alcohol mixture in a continuous stream onto the cream and honey mixture, whisking continuously until all the liquid is absorbed and the mixture forms soft peaks.
  5. Spoon into serving dishes and chill for 2-3 hours
  6. Serve topped with flaked almonds.
Leave a Reply

