Cupcakes and Muffins

Maple and Pecan Muffins

I was pretty excited today as I had some free time and thought I would whip up some cupcakes to take out to a friend’s. I’m actually very fond of cupcakes and muffins, especially the smaller, bite-sized varieties like fairy cakes. But I also have a wonderful cookbook called 200 Cakes and Bakes Cookbook, from the Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook Series, which I have been really eager to test. So as I was flipping through I spotted a flavour I know I’m very fond of – maple syrup and pecan nuts.

When I was a little girl we used to have a bread maker that mum would use to whip up a lot of tasty treats – from scones, to raisin toast, to cream buns. But my all time favourite was the dessert bread she used to make, maple and pecan bread. So naturally I wasn’t about to pass up the opportunity to turn that flavour into a series of delicious cupcakes.

I fully recommend buying up a few of the Hamlyn All Colour Cookbook Series – particularly their 200 Really Easy Recipes Cookbook or their 200 Cakes and Bakes Cookbook. I first happened upon them on a five dollars table at a discount bookstore, and trust me it was a glorious find. Not only are all of their recipes cheap, but they’re simple and quick and very popular once people have sunk their teeth into them.

Hamlyn’s

Maple and Pecan Muffins

Makes: 12, Prep: 10mins, Cook: 25-30 mins

Ingredients

  • 300g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 125g soft brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 50ml maple syrup
  • 250ml milk
  • 50g unsalted butter
  • 125g white chocolate chips
  • 75g pecan nuts, coarsely chopped

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 200°C.
  2. Sift the flour and baking powder into a mixing bowl and stir in the sugar.
  3. Beat together the egg, maple syrup, milk and melted butter and beat into dry ingredients until well mixed.
  4. Fold in chocolate chips and pecans.
  5. Divide mixture between patty pans, top with extra chocolate chips and/or pecans.
  6. Bake for 20-25 minutes until well risen and golden, then transfer to wire rack to cool.
Leave a Reply

